Twas the night before Christmas…

northern lights, aurora borealis, winter, spruce threes, Christmas, Dan Jurak, landscape, snow, winter, stars, long exposure,

There are three things in life that have the amazing ability to bring back long forgotten memories. Music, smell and for me, photographs.

A song can take you back to the days of high school in an instant. When I think of the British band Yes, all of the high school parties that I attended seem like they were only yesterday.
Last week I went grocery shopping to a local Asian food market and the smells of the bakery, produce and deli sections had me reminiscing grocery shopping with my parents when I was four or five years old. I took deep, lung filling breaths as I walked through the store. The memories rushed through me. Things that I had not thought of for fifty or so years came to the fore. What an amazing feeling!

As I have been doing the last few weeks today I was browsing through some of my thousands of RAW images on one of my drives. Some of the photos, the ones that I never ended up processing looked new to me. I had forgotten all about them but upon seeing them I could recall exactly what I was thinking as I was driving the lonely, dark backroads of central Alberta during the early winter.

When I am taking pictures and processing them over the next few days I am always looking forward to the next photo shoot so when I look back upon what I have taken years later it seems like Christmas all over again. A bounty of found photos that were long forgotten.

The funny thing about the aurora photo above is that when I saw it earlier today for the first time in four years I immediately thought of Christmas. I don’t know why but I did and as a coincidence a couple of hours later when I was driving home from getting supper what should be playing on the radio? A Christmas song. The first I have heard this year. Life is full of happy coincidences.

Have a safe Remembrance Day if you are in Canada or Veterans Day if you are American,

Dan

ps. Today is the 55th anniversary of my fathers passing. My dad loved photography among other things and to him if he can see me a special hi to my dad wherever he is. Dad, I hope that you are smiling. I always have you in my thoughts.

~ by Dan Jurak on November 11, 2017.

3 Responses to “Twas the night before Christmas…”

  1. I’m happily smiling as I say this… I too see Christmas in your photo! I gazed at it and wondered why … I think that its the heavenly sky šŸ™‚ Thank you Dan!

  2. Thank you. Maybe it is the spruce trees and the Christmasy colours in the sky?
    Dan

  3. Yes, I agree. I think that would have to be it!

Leave a Reply

 
