Gripe: Buying software but wait… there’s more to buy than meets the eye

Today’s post is more of a bitch or a gripe than anything else. Hopefully these will be few and far between but today I felt compelled to write about this.

Photoshop has been around for many years. It is a gigantic program that after having used it daily for almost twenty five years I at times feel like I have only scratched the surface on it.

Photoshop is a very important part in my photography. Taking the picture is kind of like having the ingredients to a recipe and photoshop is akin to the kitchen and assorted utensils.

I am always open to new and interesting ways of processing things. Many times I find myself doing things the old fashioned way only because that is how I have been doing it for years.

There are many ways to achieve the same effect in Photoshop. Whether it is manually selecting and using the different tools in the program, using filters or the latest thing, Photoshop actions.

Actions is a name for a series of things done in the program that have been automated. For example I could manually select shadows with a magic wand, save the selection as a channel and I have a luminosity mask. An action cuts out all the in between steps and with the press of a button you have the same channel.  A real time saver for sure.

That is but one example of Photoshop actions.

Today I came across a set of actions that I found really interesting. The were an advanced  version of actions that I had bought about a dozen years earlier and I was still using them. The new set is much more advanced than the ones that I have and do many more things.

I was tempted to purchase them until I saw all of the instructional videos that I could “purchase” to help me understand the program.

Now I ask, isn’t that like selling you something without a users manual so that you can use the item to its full potential?

If I don’t buy the videos I can stumble by and slowly learn my way through the program and maybe miss a lot along the way.

When I bought my car, I got a very detailed manual. In fact just about everything that I buy comes with a comprehensive manual but not this software.

Did I buy it? You guess.

Happy shooting,

Dan

/bitchy mode off

~ by Dan Jurak on October 10, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
