All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain…

high key, snow, cold, prairie, I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die., Blade Runner, Dan Jurak, snow, winter,

I have written before that my father died when I was very young. Even now at the age of 63 I can see how it still affects me and made me into the person that I am.

If anyone understands and appreciates women’s equality, the glass ceiling, etc. it is probably me.

My mother was a very strong and independent woman. We were very poor and couldn’t afford the things that most people took for granted.

I remember being eight years old and our upstairs toilet, the only toilet in the house, stop working. It was mom who turned the water off, started taking the thing apart until she figured out was wrong or what part needed replacing and caught the bus to go the the nearest hardware store to pick up a replacement. She repaired our television set the same way taking out all the tubes and going to a department store to put them in the tube tester, yes they really did have those things, until she found the broken one and bought a replacement.

My mother was very strong but she had a soft and gentle side.

I grew up with a strong female influence. I was never “macho” or tough. I grew up understanding that the difference between men and women were by and large physical and in no way were women less than men because of that. Women in many ways had to excel in order to be recognized as being equal to men.

That being said, I have what I guess you could call a “strong” feminine side? No, I don’t mean I wear women’s clothing or anything like that but I am at times very emotional. Many are the times when a television show was on that I had to leave the room in order to hide my tears because it wasn’t “manly” to cry or so I believed. I was so wrong about that.

When dating I could never go to a movie that I knew was a tear jerker because I would be sobbing the loudest of all the people in the theatre. LOL

One of my favourite movies of all time is Blade Runner. The sequel to it comes out today I only realized as I am writing this.

The story takes place in the future when Harrison Fords character is tasked to hunt down some rogue replicants. Replicants were genetically engineered supermen who supposedly had no hearts or souls. They would be sent to dangerous places across the universe to mine or go to war, to places deemed too dangerous to be visited by humans.

Near the end of the show, one of the last replicants being hunted by Fords character is shot and mortally wounded. The two characters are on a rooftop where it is pouring rain and Ford is hanging from the edge of the building about to fall to his death with the last replicant near him on the ledge. You would think that the replicant would let him die but just as Ford loses his grip, the replicant grabs him by one arm and lifts him to safety.

As the replicant realizes that he is about to die he says to Decker, Fords character, “I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die.”

And he passes away. Well, I was in the theater at the time watching it and you know the rest. Bring out the Kleenex.

And so here we are having lived and experienced “all those moments”.

Your photos are important. They are more important than you think and I don’t mean financially. They are a part of your legacy. The photos I have of my ancestors, my relatives, my dad the cutlines around Nordegg during his annual fall hunting trip. The photos of us growing up. Will they all be lost?

With every photo you take there is a story, many stories and memories and feelings that we have forgotten until we revisit them.

Part of our legacy are these photos. Treasure them and keep them in a safe place or they will be lost in time, like tears in rain…

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on October 5, 2017.

8 Responses to “All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain…”

  1. I believe the void within our family created by the death of my father when I was three defined my life’s journey. I appreciate both your images and life narratives. Thank you

  2. Hi Brenda, thank you for taking the time to reply.
    Who knows what the bigger picture of our lives is because I certainly don’t. I have my guesses and suspicions but that is all.
    The people that we meet and sometimes are separated from during our journeys are an important part of making us who we are. I agree completely with you.

    Thank you again for your considerate reply,
    Dan

  3. I really enjoyed reading this. I think a lot more people out there need to sit and enjoy life for what it is. It is too short, and I feel that a lot of us miss these times we feel are important to us and often we all to quickly forget about them. Pictures capture memories, and living in the moment savors them. ❤ Keep up the good work!

  4. Hi and thank you for your kind words.
    Like the old saying goes, you don’t know what you’ve got until its gone, it can also be said about life, health, family, friends.
    Dan

  5. Powerful blog today Dan. Roy’s quote is one of my favourite pieces of cinematic history. You may know this but the reference to moments bring lost like tears in the rain was an addition to the script by the actor Rutger Hauer when he acted Roy. I recently used it as the front quote for a book of black and white photos that I am doing (just for myself) because it is to related in my mind to the place I enter into as I take photographs. Your words were full of depth and wisdom. Thank you for sharing them.

  6. Hi Shauna,
    Thank you for your kindness.

    It is indeed news to me about Rutger Hauer adding those words to the script. To me they are the most powerful sentiments in the movie and really asks the question that I think all of us eventually ask, are all of these moments lost forever?

    Our photographs can bring back so many thoughts, memories and experiences that we had forgotten about but are revived upon viewing them.

    Thank you for commenting and thank you for the info on Rutger Hauer,
    Dan

  7. Thank you for sharing an important part of your story. Your images are beautiful!

  8. Thank you for the kind words Terreblogger.
    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
