Hello It’s Me

storm

“Hello, it’s me
I’ve thought about us for a long, long time” – Todd Rundgren

It’s been a long time old friend.

As I write this a big storm is approaching from the west and old tunes from my teens by Emmerson, Lake and Palmer, Yes, Todd Rundgren, The Moody Blue, Steely Dan, etc. are playing on my iMac.

As the music played memories of days gone by rushed through my mind. That was a long time ago. So very long ago it sometimes seems and at other times, I think where have the years gone? How many more of them do I have?

I have been taking pictures for the past few months but haven’t felt strong enough about them to be moved to post about them until I started going through some very old images. They were taken so long ago that they seemed fresh to me and I thought to myself, did I really take these?

Like the music, the photos instantly took me back years. Chasing storms. Rising before the sun to catch the first rays of the sun light up the morning fog and then I wondered when and where did I lose my passion?

Photography and music and music are two old friends. When you revisit them after a long while it is as if you were never apart.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on June 26, 2017.

12 Responses to “Hello It’s Me”

  1. Excellent shot Dan! And a thoughtful write up. I hope you keep on posting…

  2. Thank you Tim!

    As long as I am breathing I will still post but I won’t promise on posting as frequently.

    Dan

  3. Thank you for sharing your beautiful image and honest thoughts. It’s very rare that photographers admit publicly that they have times when their creative drive and passion has waned. It looks like you found it again.

  4. Thank you Sandra. Maybe it’s age but being pretentious about myself or photography is of no interest to me. It is more helpful to others to share honestly about the creative process than to mislead them and have them think that there is something wrong with them.

    Photography is an old friend that will always remain.

    Thank you again,
    Dan

  5. Oh what wonderful taste in music you have! I’ve seen both Todd and Steely Dan in the last three years and yes, the past comes flooding back in new and unexpected ways every time I hear them. Moody Blues? Yes, please.

  6. Sharon, thank you. Is it just us or was music really better back in the day? Music like old photos instantly take us back and those things I just know last FOREVER.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  7. Oh, music was definitely better back in the day. Classic rock, like classic jazz, will always sound good — real.

    Does every generation say that? In our case, it’s TRUE! πŸ˜‰

  8. You are right about music and the generational thing. The music that we listen to when we are young is imprinted into our minds.

    Music is closely tied to our souls or so I believe. It can be uplifting, inspirational and take us away from where we to a time and place far, far away. It is indeed special. In my next life I want so badly to be a musician. πŸ™‚

    Dan

  9. I enjoy going back through old images at times and reworking them with fresh eyes. Or even more fun to me is creating photo art out of them with textures, layers and frames and the like. Anything to be creative.

  10. Hi Sheila, it is especially fun with very, very old images, the kind that you have forgotten that you took. With creativity the journey is as much fun as the destination.
    Dan

  11. I love this shot!

  12. Thank you Jane.

    You have probably driven by this road before. When leaving Edmonton going towards Fort Saskatchewan, just before you reach the Sikh Temple on the highway, there is an intersection. Turn right (east) and that is where this was taken.

    My in-laws used to have an acreage at Horsehills which is just up the road from there so I am plenty familiar with the area.

Leave a Reply

 
