Black & White Or Color?

monchrome, black and white, black & white, landscape, surreal, prairie, winter, snow, farm, rural, clouds, ethereal, dreamy,

Black and white or color? Which to shoot? Which way to see?

After having spent a whole year of concentrating on black and white images a change from the color that I am used to, I feel the urge to do… both.

There are so many advantages to each. Being able to visualize a color photograph is different than in black and white. It’s not more difficult, only different.

By spending a year on only black and whites I think that I am starting to be able to successfully predict how my final image will look compared to what the eye sees.

Photography is what you want it to be. There are “purists” that take sides and vigorously defend them. Your side is wrong! My side is right! Film is the only way to see! No burning or dodging allowed! And on and on and on they preach. Don’t be swayed or misled by these people.

Photography for me anyway is like religion or politics. We are all entitled to believe what we will and practice what we do as long as it doesn’t interfere with how you live your life.

Getting back to black and white especially at this time of year frees me to take pictures during all hours of the day. I look for shapes and tones. If the bare bones of the photo is there it can usually be completed in post processing.

The photo above was taken during the middle of the afternoon. The color image is white and blue. No matter how I played with the photo in color it didn’t come across the way that I imagined.

Converting this photo to black and white offered many more opportunities to take the image which ever way I wanted. It is the freedom to create without limitations or restrictions that is fun. I keep coming back to photography because it is fun and not work.

Restricting yourself creatively might be a good exercise to learn a technique but the goal is to have fun, create and share.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on March 7, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
