Revisiting your old images

mountains, ice, ice bubbles, not abraham lake, not spray lake, Jasper, Jasper national park, rockys, Dan Jurak, landscape,

The clothes that I wear today are different than the ones that I wore twenty years ago. My tastes in music and food have changed. My political leanings have swayed back and forth over the years.

Why would I expect my taste in photographs to be the same? The answer is that I wouldn’t.

I remember when I first got back into shooting landscapes. It was the distinct and unique ability of HDR processing that allowed me to capture both the extreme highlights and shadows that influenced my processing at the time.

Looking back at those early photographs, I am embarrassed. They were awful. I now see halos and garish tones that at the time I thought were “interesting”.

Was that the wrong way to process my images at the time? I don’t think so. I look at it more as a step in my evolution as for lack of a better word, an artist. It was and is a part of my growth and has taken me to where I am currently.

We can all look back at the family scrap book photos with our funny haircuts and hairdos and laugh. I find it harder to laugh at my photos but still they are a reflection of how I saw things at the time.

The photo at the top was taken on a cold January day in 2011. By then my processing wasn’t as wild and crazy but when I looked at how I had processed the photo, I thought that I could do a better job of the original RAW files today.

I have been using Photoshop since version 2.5 and I still consider myself not much more than a novice at the program. I have seen Youtube videos by younger people who are always showing me different ways to get an effect or look.

It’s like the watercolor artist who till the day they die is discovering new ways to roll the paper or lay down the colors and that is precisely one of the reasons that keeps me interested in the craft.

Photography is not a race or a contest where you get to the finish line. It is instead a journey and like the saying goes, the journey is more interesting than the destination.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on February 26, 2017.

4 Responses to “Revisiting your old images”

  1. I have had a similar experience. Coming from the film world we were desperate for exposure latitude. Fortunately we can reprocess our work and bring it out with a fresh (and better) look.

  2. Hi Eduardo,
    You are right, it is a nice luxury to be able to reprocess our images and they usually only get better with age. 🙂

    Dan

  3. That is a beautiful image where the ice is as smooth as glass and my eye is drawn to the light in the horizon.

  4. Great Picture. Ice looks so good. I can understand how much efforts are required to click shots like this. Appreciate your work and efforts.

Leave a Reply

 
