Photography… the great ego booster?

landscape, monochrome, black and white, frost, hoar frost, winter, minimalist, high key, Dan Jurak, Alberta, prairie,

At the age of 62 I am long past caring too much about what people think of me.

When my kids say my hair is standing up (what is left of it) or that my clothes don’t look coordinated I quietly acknowledge them and then go on my merry way without changing a thing.

My photographs stopped being for others a few years ago. When I stopped taking photos for a living and even then I usually did things my way, LOL, started in earnest taking pictures for my own satisfaction.

One only need look at Instagram or Facebook to see how vanity and ego have taken control of a lot of us. For example, how many people actually look like their posed and no doubt practiced a few thousand times, profile photos on social media websites?

Now don’t get me wrong. In my younger days I spent too much money on clothes, looked in the mirror to much and fretted often about what people thought about me.

Age has a funny way of putting things into better perspective for me. I’m not in competition anymore. Not for dating. Not for a job. Not to be the most popular photographer on the internet.

Fame and ego is for others I have decided and that is just fine by me.

The photo at the top of the post is from the few days in January where we had an incredible hoar frost in central Alberta. There are probably a few dozen other photos taken during that time that will never be seen. In taking photos at least how I take them, not everything that is taken will be something that agrees with my minds eye.

Editing is a huge part of the photography process. What you cull from your images is as important as what you keep.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on February 2, 2017.

10 Responses to “Photography… the great ego booster?”

  1. Lovely, Dan! FWIW, I’m right behind you in the age department. Thankfully, I quit giving a rip in my 40’s. Makes life much easier for sure.

  2. I wish that I had realized in my forties or even teens that it makes no difference to your life what others think of you. Nice to see you here again.
    Dan

  3. Dan, I like your last statement – “What you cull from your images is as important as what you keep.” I think this is something that all budding photographers should know and understand.

    I am also with you in that in my retirement, I do not worry about what others think of my images – I take them for me as a way to try and express my creative streak, Doesn’t always hit the mark, but then I learn something from that realization as well. Have to keep the old brain active and learning.

  4. @Ron, I think that an important part of success or learning is failing.

    No mistakes are bad if you can learn something from them. Bring on the failures. LOL

  5. Wasn’t that few days of hoar frost great? Like this image, the light is of such good quality. I heard recently that someone who took photos of objects, didn’t take a photo of the object, they took a photo of the light. I thought that was an interesting way of seeing.

  6. The frost was special. We always seem to get a few days of “special” weather every year.

    My favourite was over Christmas a few years ago. A heavy hoar frost and fog with lots and lots of fresh snow. So many interesting photos during that time.

    I think photography is more about the light than the subject. You are right about that.

    Dan

  7. i didn’t realize you were SOOOOOOOOOOOO young! happy shooting, young man!

  8. Catching up Uncle Pedro. 🙂

  9. this is a gorgeous image, Dan! it looks like an infrared one but i suspect it’s not. I love the simplicity, the high contrast, and how the trees seem to be bowing to one another.

    I too have been out getting some shots of the gorgeous hoarfrost; it’s awesome, isn’t it?

    ..steve

  10. Hi Steve, it looks like an infrared but it’s just a heavy frost covering everything. That was a great stretch of weather we had wasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
