Painting With The Wind

Painting With The Wind

I don’t have a plan.

My photography takes me where it will and I follow silently and unquestioning.

It’s amazing how if you just let go and let things  happen they often turn out far differently and better than if you had planned something.

The wind on the prairies is forever moving clouds and grasses and leaves. Trees sway to it. Old wooden farm granaries fall over in it’s presence.

Lately I have been photographing clouds. Long exposures. Four minutes. Eight minutes.

Letting the wind paint the clouds across the canvas that the sky is.

Never knowing how it will gift me. It surprises me. It delights me.

The wind is special here. It has a palpable presence. I feel it cool me under the hot sun of summer and it chills me to the bone come winter.

I love painting with the wind.

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on August 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
