The House In Hairy Hill

The House In Hairy Hill

First of all, there really is a place named Hairy Hill. It’s about an hour from where I live. When I mentioned to my wife that I was heading out that way she never even batted an eye. You see, she went to nursing school with a gal who hails from there.

Hairy Hill is a small, small town. What drew me to the place was a few photos that I had seen of locked up and abandoned places there. So off I went with a rough idea of where I was going but not what I was going to photograph.

I wasn’t disappointed. Although the light and sky could have been much better I had fun poking around and trying different compositions. For sure it is a place that I will return to.

I leave you with what I call the “Hansel and Gretel House”. I call it that because what you can’t see in infrared or in this frame are the lovely blue wildflowers that covered what used to be the lawn out of picture frame left. It was stunning in color but alas did not translate so well in black and white.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 26, 2016.

7 Responses to “The House In Hairy Hill”

  1. Iheard Hairy Hill was named so because the bison would rub themselves on the trees and rocks there, leaving behind their hair.

  2. That sounds like a reasonable explanation for the name. Thank you for the insight.

    Dan

  3. I bet the wild flower looked lovely. Do you ever shoot and post in color?

  4. Sheila, it was very nice in color.

    To answer your question, yes, I used to. I blogged and photographed color for four or five years and then deleted everything a little while back.

    If you would like to see the color that I used to do, visit my website, http://www.danjurak.com

    Dan

  5. Thanks. I look forward to checking it out.

  6. You have framed the creepy old house beautifully.

  7. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
