Four Minutes On The Homestead

Four Minutes On The Homestead

Four minutes.

Long exposure images are always a surprise. I can never accurately predict what the results will be.

When I passed this old and dilapidated homestead sitting in the middle of a field the sky was heavily overcast.

To date my favorite long exposure landscapes have resulted from skies that were a 60/40 mix of white clouds and blue sky. Yesterday was different as the sky was heavily overcast. So overcast in fact that I almost passed by without stopping to take a picture.

It’s always a good idea to experiment. You can learn not only from your successes but your failures. Don’t ever be afraid to take a bad picture.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 24, 2016.

7 Responses to “Four Minutes On The Homestead”

  1. Beautiful result! 🙂

  2. Thank you.
    Dan

  3. You did a great job with this. Cheers!

  4. Thank you,
    Dan

  5. I must take my tripod with me and try a long exposure for tthe great effects in the sky, on the water or in wind-blown fields of grass. How long do you expose them or is it up to me to experiment? Thank God for digital and I am inspired by your shot to try it myself-lovely!

  6. oh, I just read the title again…hmmm.

  7. Hi Jane, ahhh, the title… 🙂
    I vary exposures from four to eight minutes.

    Anything less than four minutes usually gives me clouds that aren’t smooth and the streaks are short.

    There aren’t any hard and fast rules for this it is by trial and error that I do it.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
