The House In The Woods

The House In The Woods

I realized something this morning as I sat down to write this blog.

What is it that keeps me shooting landscapes? I stopped doing it for the money ages ago. I could NOT care less about being popular or famous on the internet and have my cadre of followers itching to fork out thousands of dollars to join me on trips across the countryside.

I do it because although the act of being creative is a large part an equal part is the joy of discovery. It is with an almost childlike delight that I enjoy traipsing up and down dusty gravel roads and with my imagination find magical places.

These “magical” places are hidden from us. They tease and beckon you to find them. They are only real in my mind. It’s like being able to see into another dimension. It’s there but it isn’t.

The House In The Woods sits beside a major highway right outside of where I live. Thousands upon thousands of vehicles drive by it daily unaware of its existence.

I took photos here a few days earlier but the sky wasn’t right and I wanted to revisit it when conditions were better.

It was a hot summer afternoon. After lunch I believe, certainly not the magic hour that I am used to when shooting colour but perfect for infrared.

With the sun shining brightly under infrared foliage jumps to life. It positively glows warmth and light.

I was walking through almost chest deep grass. In the tall grass there were flattened spots where white tailed deer bed down to rest and stay hidden. You could walk within meters of them and unless they jumped up and scooted away you would never know that they were there. It was a special place but I was constantly reminded of where I was by the sound of diesel trucks roaring down the highway just over the hill.

I proceeded down the gully, looking and shooting. When I stopped at the bottom and looked back from where I had come I saw the abandoned farm house framed by a heavy, sloping branch from what I think was an ash tree.

Quickly, almost reflexively I raised the camera, pointed, fired off a few frames and moved on.

That’s the thing about when I shoot infrared, I seldom if ever look to see what I have captured. The LCD display on the camera back is so purple and dark it’s difficult to make out what I have. Unlike the long exposures that I do which are very deliberate and planned (they can last up to eight minutes) shooting infrared is a very fast and spontaneous thing.

Thinking that I had something on the memory card I moved on and shot a few more things that caught my attention and then it was home twenty minutes later while editing in camera that I thought, well, maybe there is something here.

I wonder if the deer are back at their sleeping spot right now?

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 17, 2016.

5 Responses to “The House In The Woods”

  1. Magical!

  2. Yes…the joy of photography is that moment of awakening to a single element of light, shadow, color, subject within space-time and/or the uniting of these elements in a single moment. And…then opening the images on the computer as if to see what treasures were tucked into a pocket. Joy, delight, surprise, aweness…all of these things awaken and come into “focus’ when I walk about with camera in hand. The cabin speaks of mystery…a story untold.

  3. Brenda, my sentiments exactly.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  4. This is fabulous composition! It’s as if the branch is pointing to times so far away and distant.

  5. Thank you so very much,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
