It’s not about where you live…

Lone Elm Tree

I have received many emails and comments telling me that they wished that they lived in as beautiful place as I.

And my reply has always been, it’s not that beautiful. In fact, it’s very ordinary where I am.

Alberta has hundreds upon hundreds of square kilometres or miles, take your pic of very plain, ordinary and UN-spectacular landscapes. If I lived in any other part of the world my photos would look different but they wouldn’t look any less special, at least not to me.

Where I live has shaped how I see things. Photography on the prairies is not the same as say planting myself on the shores of Lake Louise and ninety percent of my work is done for me. Lake Louise already looks good without any help. Where I live is another story.

The secret to getting interesting landscapes is not about being in the most exotic landscapes on the planet. I have little to no interest in visiting Iceland, or going to Patagonia. That is low hanging fruit and… I love sleeping in my own bed.

I take my photos and usually in half an hour I am home.

Put a wide angle lens, the widest you have on your camera and go out someplace twenty minutes from where you are. Snap photos all around you until you have a complete 360 degrees covered. Go home and look at those photos. Somewhere if you look hard enough there will be something that catches your eye. THAT is my secret to getting interesting and different photos. I don’t take all those photos with a camera but in my minds eye I look around until I see something that is aesthetically pleasing.

That’s the first part.

The second and third parts go hand in hand. Light and weather. Both transform, almost magically a place that looks ordinary to something very special. There are so many places within minutes that I have photographed that tens of thousands of people drive by everyday and never give a second look.

The ordinary can be made to look like something trulyl special with just a little bit of work/inspiration.

It’t not about where you live. It’s about how you see.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on June 25, 2016.

8 Responses to “It’s not about where you live…”

  1. Great post and comment, especially the part about sleeping in one’s own bed.

    “The secret to getting interesting landscapes is not about being in the most exotic landscapes on the planet. I have little to no interest in visiting Iceland, or going to Patagonia. That is low hanging fruit and… I love sleeping in my own bed.”

  2. Hey Dan! Great advice as always. It’s great to see you posting on a more regular basis again, love reading your insight into all things photography and life.

  3. Thanks for the great tips 🙂

  4. Thank you. The idea of being in my own bed far outweigh any sense of adventure I might have. LOL

    Dan

  5. Thank you Justin.

    I hope to be writing/shooting on a more regular basis now.

    Dan

  6. Thank you Nancy. Lovely paintings btw.

    Dan

  7. Thanks 🙂

  8. Agree.

Leave a Reply

 
