And for all these years I thought it was just photography…

 

black and white, long exposure, Alberta, landscape, Dan Jurak, clouds, minimalist,

We all are on our own unique journey in this world. All of us traveling together and yet apart, moving towards something. What is that something? For some it is wealth. For others fame. It is a moving target that is always beyond our reach.

It’s been a while since I have posted any photos let alone take them. Photography is an old friend that has put food on the table and provided a roof over my family’s heads for many years. It has also been something that has given me an inner peace over the years.

I was talking a few days ago with a very good fine artist. A painter who is very successful but not because she is seeking fame and fortune but because painting puts her in a special place.

Over the years I have noticed but not paid much attention to where my creativity comes from. Recently I started reading about meditation and the soul. Now before you stop reading and think that you are going to get a sermon, you aren’t. I have never been preachy and never will be. Remember we are all on our own journeys in this life.

When people have asked me how I get the ideas for this or that I am always at a loss because I had never given it much thought at all. After having listened to an audiobook on the soul and consciousness it started to come together for me.

Many artists over the years have when asked where their art comes from have said that they don’t know, that it isn’t them that creates it. It just flows out of them and that is what I am coming to find.

These photos have no special message in them for the viewer. What they are is a window into a part of me that I don’t yet understand. That part I hope to one day get closer to.

Your travels to take photos are not just physical but spiritual whether you know it or not.

We all are going somewhere.

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on April 5, 2016.

12 Responses to “And for all these years I thought it was just photography…”

  1. Great post, Dan! We are on a spiritual journey, even though i don’t think about it a whole lot. Maybe I should…
    Love the accompanying photo, by the way.

  2. Nice.
    I also feel that way.
    Vladimir

  3. Thank you Vladimir.
    Dan

  4. Aren’t we all on that journey even if we don’t realize it.

    Thank you Terry,
    Dan

  5. Well written post Dan and great image.

  6. Very interesting and intriguing thoughts and a lovely and intense photograph.

  7. Thank you Stephan.

  8. Thank you Karen.

  9. I completely agree. It is a question I still find difficult to answer as I do not yet know the answer. Love the image too…

  10. Hi Pammy,

    I don’t think that we will every “know” the answer to that question, at least not in this existence. I do find it fascinating to ponder and wonder about it all though.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  11. Hmmmm I wonder where I am coming from and where I am going?

  12. Hey, cousin – great post – and here’s hoping you keep posting the photos – a continual inspiration to all us amateurs – in terms of some books, authors, etc., to explore along similar lines that you allude to, here are some of my favourites (apologies if you are already aware of these…) – a lot of Thomas Merton but especially Seven Story Mountain, John Main – Essential Writing, Annie Dillard – The Abundance and Pilgram at Tinker Creek, almost anything by Frederick Buechner but perhaps especially the essays collected in The Hungering Dark and The Magnificent Defeat, the novels (most highly recommended!!!) and non-fiction of Marilynne Robinson, the novels of Walker Percy, Mysticism by Evelyn Underhill and so on and so forth…

Leave a Reply

 
