Goodbye last year, hello New Year

 

_DSC2452_I haven’t touched or looked at my camera equipment since September. Sometimes it goes like that. It’s like not having seen a good friend for a long time. It’s a friendship that lasts a lifetime. Photography that is.

New Years Eve had the makings of an incredible night out in the country. Aurora forecasts were predicting great things. The skies were forecast to be mainly clear and the weather just below freezing. Not too shabby for my part of the world.

As it turned out the auroras appeared but the ones that I saw were not well defined. Instead there were broad washes of green across the sky and the occasional swirl of light.

It didn’t make for the best of photos but it reminded me of why I love photographing the landscape. The sense of adventure and discovery. The not knowing what is around the next corner or how the sky will look from one minute to the next. I love the unpredictability of it.

A pleasant surprise was also meeting three people whose photos I have seen, names recognized but had never met before.

Early on in the evening I headed to a couple of old churches north of where I live. If the aurora were still weak I would stay there for a little while and then move on in the hope that something would happen.

When I pulled up to the churches there were already two vehicles parked by the side of the road and three silhouettes against the snow with cameras and tripods.

While chatting about the skies and photography in general we introduced ourselves and realized that we all were familiar with one another. It’s certainly a small world.

Here’s to 2016 and may you follow you passion whatever it may be.

Happy shooting,

Dan

ps. and to my daughter Brooke, THERE I finally posted on the blog LOL

 

~ by Dan Jurak on January 1, 2016.

11 Responses to “Goodbye last year, hello New Year”

  1. The ebb and flow of life will always lead us somewhere with our attitudes determining what we will find there – All the very best during this year Dan

  2. Thank you Ray and all the best to you in the New Year!

    Dan

  3. amazing colours!
    Happy New Year! 🙂

  4. Wonderful story and photograph. That’s the thing about a passion though. We may neglect it but it never leaves us. When we are ready it is always wIting there to welcome us home. Happy new year to you.

  5. Thank you Corinne and a very Happy New Year to you!

  6. Thank you and Happy New Year!

  7. That is so neat to run into other photographers. I have met some and now follow them on the photo sites. I went north of St Albert and saw some green streaks but not very good photos. It was lovely standing under the big sky and recognising the big dipper. may I ask what your settings were? I had 30 seconds shutter with f11 and 400 ISO.The ones at 100 ISO just did not work. I definitely want to go out again.

  8. Hi Jane,

    Yes, it is nice to meet others that share the same interests as you and whose work you are familiar with.

    Being under the night sky is a special thing especially if you can find a very dark sky with little to no light pollution.

    For you to get better night sky results 400 ISO is much too slow. I usually photograph the northern lights at 1600 ISO f2.8 and 8 seconds.

    We are at a great latitude to view the aurora it is just those cloudy skies that get in the way. LOL

    All the best and thank you for visiting and posting,
    Dan

  9. Thanks Dan.

  10. I just found your blog through a link on some one else’s blog, and I have thoroughly enjoyed looking at all of your photos! I hope you post some more again soon. You are a wonderful photographer!

  11. Hi Offshoots12.

    Glad you enjoyed the blog.

    I will be posting regularly again soon. In fact I was out yesterday for the first time in months.

    Stay tuned.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
