The Old Church in Dorothy, Alberta

church, infrared, dorothy, alberta, landscape, badlands, drumheller, Alberta, #explorealberta, infrared, black and white, prairie,

I love to drive in the country. There doesn’t need to be a specific reason because for me it has always been a fun thing to do.

From my earliest memories I can remember sitting in the back seat of the car and peering out the window as the landscape zoomed by. Everything was interesting. Everything was fascinating.

Lately I do this by myself if only because I am retired and I get out whenever the urge strikes to take photos and/or explore. This past Tuesday was different. My two daughters and one of my brothers all had time off from their jobs. After a little planning it was decided to do the three hour drive from Edmonton to Drumheller, Alberta home of the world famous Royal Tyrrell Museum of Paleontology (I had to look up the name because I know it as the dinosaur museum lulz).

The museum is situated in the Red Deer River Valley which courses its way through the Alberta prairie. It really is an amazing place. One minute you are driving across endlessly flat prairie where you can see from horizon to horizon unobstructed and the next you are descending tens of millions of years into the badlands of Alberta where the landscape looks like a scene out of an early western movie. In fact there have been many movies and automobile advertisements shot here over the years.

The last time I brought the kids here they were very young and saw the dinosaur museum through the eyes of children. This time there was talk about phylum and such. Things that they had learned in university. This time it was me who was listening to them explain things and not the other way around. LOL

The museum is a remarkable place and is one of the best in the world, full of dinosaur displays, many of which were excavated from the nearby badlands. A must see for anyone visiting western Canada.

I did bring my cameras along but they were not the primary reason for getting out. In a few years my girls will have their own families and obligations. Do it now or you might never be able to do it again like this.

As always when the kids travel with their uncle and I there is plenty of chatter and laughter. These are the days that memories are made of. Even though my girls are adults my brother still surprises them with bags of treats that make them giggle and squeal like the little girls they once were.

A few kilometers east of Drumheller is a little hamlet named Dorothy. Dorothy, Alberta has an old wooden grain elevator, one of the last standing ones in Alberta, two or three residences and two old churches which are very old. I wanted to drive to Dorothy and show the girls and my brother the churches. They are unlocked during the day and have a donation box for those who wish to help with the upkeep of the churches. While the three explored inside the church I grabbed my infrared camera body and wandered around the old buildings.

Nothing serious in the way of photos today. A few quick snapshots and off we went taking a roundabout way home across some fantastic prairie scenery.

When all is said at the end of a long life all that we are left with are memories and friendships. These are the kind of days that are treasured. A picture might be worth a thousand words but days like today…

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 23, 2015.

7 Responses to “The Old Church in Dorothy, Alberta”

  1. Nice shot Dan. My wife and I are actually going to be in Drumheller next week with my brother and his family. I’ll have to see if we can get to Dorothy I’ve never been there before.

  2. Steve, I think that you will really enjoy all that this area has to offer. I would suggest that you Google Drumheller and badlands to get an idea of what to see and where to see it.

    It’s easy to see Dorothy because of the wooden grain elevator on the side of the highway. You can’t miss it.

    Enjoy the trip.

    Dan

  3. Thanks Dan. I have been there before, just not specifically to Dorothy. I’ll be bringing my new 10-stop ND filter so hopefully I’ll get a chance to try some long exposures at the hoodoos.

  4. Interesting and very different clouds from the other photos. Glad that you got that special day together-priceless!

  5. Thank you Jane.

    One of the interesting things about infrared, especially with the ir cutoff filter that I use is that even the faintest clouds will show up against a blue sky.

    It was great fun full of special memories.

    All the best,
    Dan

  6. Dan,

    Your story struck a chord with me. Sometimes it is so nice to hit the road with friends or family and just take a few snapshots.

    Don

  7. Thank you Don. It’s too easy to forget about the important things in life. Friends, family and relationships is really what life is all about.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
