Busy Busy Busy

infrared, landscape, lifepixel, Dan Jurak, prairie, summer, tree, clouds, hills, Alberta, high key,

Two things that I know/feel about photographs.

Simple is best. Less is more.

That’s normally what I think but again rules are meant to be broken.

Here is a busy photograph. It just might be the busiest photo that I have ever posted but I like it.

In a week or two my opinion will probably change.

We have some more scorching weather coming over the next couple of days with a chance of rain for the weekend.

Always looking at the sky.

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on July 7, 2015.

6 Responses to “Busy Busy Busy”

  1. Dan, very nice. I am wondering how you get such stark contrast. Would you care to share the filter you are using and how you process these images. If you have already done it, then point me to it, if not, maybe could do this in one of your postings. Thanks.

    Ron

  2. Thank you Ron.

    The contrast is a function of the filter used for the IR conversion on the camera.

    I don’t use an IR filter in front of the lens instead I have a camera body that was converted earlier this year to shoot only infrared. The conversion is the equivalent of an 830 nm filter.

    The image comes out pink/magenta untouched. I desaturate the color and then adjust my levels and contrast.

    Here is a link that explains the different conversions. http://www.lifepixel.com/infrared-filters-choices

    The one I use is the Deep BW IR (equivalent to 830nm Filter).

    On the link if you click to expand the images they supply RAW images that you can download to play with.

    Dan

  3. Dan, Thanks for the information. It sounds like we have followed a similar process in our pursuit of IR imagery. I actually started with film many, many years ago and when digital came along, I decided to go back to IR photography. I did my “research” and decided on a 590 nm filter. I started with a Canon Rebel Xt, but it was hard to get good focus, so I then converted a Canon 5D III with Live View, using a 590 nm filter.

    Thanks for the link. It is one I came across in my “research” and helped in the decision to go with a 590nm conversion. I also discussed this stuff with a couple of people that I knew were doing IR imagery and they suggested that I might like the 590nm conversion. I like it because it gives me more options in the conversion because it still has a bit of the visible spectrum left in the image.

    I do my initial processing in Lightroom and Photoshop. The conversion to black and white is done using both Lightroom and Nik’s Silver Efex Pro 2. I have a camera profile that I developed for Lightroom that does some of the initial processing as required.

    That’s my story of my IR photography.

    Ron

  4. Sounds good Ron.

    My first camera conversion had a filter similar to yours. The reason that I chose that wavelength was that at the time I wanted to swap color channels to get the blue sky look.

    I chose the more extreme wavelength this time because I wanted a more dramatic conversion and wasn’t interested in any sort of color conversion.

    It sounds like we are on the same “wavelength” lol.

    Dan

  5. wow I love it…

  6. Thank you Seonaid.

Leave a Reply

 
