This Old House and the Skunk

infrared, landscape, dan jurak, alberta, fineart, black and white, fineart, black & white, prairie, summer,

The Alberta prairie is dotted with hundreds and maybe thousands of these old, abandoned wooden structures.

This one is about an hours drive east of Edmonton where I live.

I first came across it last fall when I was driving back from photographing my favorite church. Taking a different way home can sometimes reveal undiscovered treasures like this one. When I first saw it the grasses around this old house were from waist to chest high and dead. It was autumn after all and most things had gone dormant for the year.

I took a few photos of it if only to remember it for the future. The light was bad and the sky horrible.

This photo was done in infrared which meant that I would not have to be up before dawn or out late just before sunset to catch the best light in color. Nope. With infrared the middle part of the day seems to be the best.

It was about one o’clock in the afternoon and on a hunch I drove out of town. The skies at that time were perfectly clear. Not usually a good thing for the kind of landscapes that I like. Because on previous days the cloud had started to form around noon I figured that if I got lucky the clouds would just be forming by the time I had gotten to the house and I was lucky. They had.

Just out of sight behind me was a sun dried skeleton of what I think was a moose lying in the tall grass. I never saw a skull so I wasn’t sure but it was a large mammal. Maybe an elk if not a moose? Beside the house the faint odor of underarms. As the wind blew I would catch scent of it. A skunk maybe?

Sure enough a few feet from the door of this old building lay the remains of a skunk. Maybe it had been shot or did it die a natural death? I dunno. What kills skunks?

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 5, 2015.

7 Responses to “This Old House and the Skunk”

  1. A Beautiful feeling of being wrapped up softly and held…..

  2. er-r-r, maybe I don’t want to see the skunk, but sure like the perspective here with the curve of the land and clouds and the bush in the foreground. I am not shooting in infa-red but still learning what it is and learning about composition. Thank you.

  3. It turned out to be a very nice image…good work!

  4. The photo was taken with a 12 mm fish eye. It gives a wonderful depth to images, especially clouds.

    As for learning, we are all learning. It never stops.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  5. Thank you Christopher.
    Dan

  6. Beautiful barn! It’s amazing what you can find when you aren’t even looking for something

  7. Thank you. Always got to expect the unexpected.

Leave a Reply

 
