Repetition is how I improve my photography

long exposure, fineart, minimalist, low key, prairie, fineart, Dan Jurak, landscape, crops, field, farm, agriculture, rural,

Excuse the picture above. I am sure that to most of you it must look almost exactly like the previous ones posted here. Excuse me because I am learning.

The old saying is true. Practice makes perfect. I can happily photograph the same thing until I feel that I get it “right”. It’s about recognizing the right conditions in the field. It’s also about processing your image in a way that conveys your vision.

In a few weeks these kinds of photos will be impossible as the crops will have grown tall and wavy in the strong winds that push the clouds overhead. Then I have all kinds of ideas on what to do with wavy heads of barley and wheat. As the seasons change so should your photographs.

This repetition is actually building the foundation for later on. The really fun part. The creative part. It is when everything becomes second nature that your expression can really flow through you.

In the mean time, forgive the reps. I am a long way from being where I want to be doing this kind of photography. Miles to go before I sleep.

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on June 23, 2015.

6 Responses to “Repetition is how I improve my photography”

  1. Very nice photos particularly the field one. i love it when the world goes stripy!

  2. Thank you Betty. I am always looking for patterns.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  3. hi dan
    so of course i had to compare the photos, and what i see is that in both cases, the cloud shapes and light/shadow really echo what is on the ground below. very cool. which just goes to show you (well, “them” because you already know) that every photo is different. you can’t click the same shutter twice… or something like that!
    marke

  4. Hi Marke,
    It isn’t by accident that the sky and ground echo one another. I try never to analyze what I photograph but instead go by “feel” if that makes any sense. I do have a few images where there is no such balance and they didn’t look right to me. When doing long exposures there is no way to predict what the result will be so I simply shoot and when at home edit out the images that don’t work.

    Dan

  5. Wonderful shot, well done. Cheers!

  6. Thank you Christian.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
