Art from the heart. On being a creative soul…

minimalist, long exposure, fineart, fine art, black and white, mountains, rockies, Alberta, DAn jurak, landscape,

Creativity is a funny and wonderful thing.

If you have followed this blog for any amount of time and this goes back to the seven hundred plus posts that I deleted last fall, popularity means very little to me. I have only seriously begun to shoot black and white and my black and whites don’t get anywhere near the response that my color photos did. That I understand.

It is easier to be splashy and get attention. It’s kind of like the crying child in the restaurant that catches everyones’ attention for all the wrong reasons.

When I was deciding which way to take this photograph, I had some of my favorite music playing on iTunes in the background and a cup of hot coffee sitting beside me. I was a million miles away from everything. No bills to take care of. No laundry to do nor groceries to buy.

I have never done drugs and have only been drunk once in my life during a high school end of school summer party but this feeling was like being on a high I am guessing.

When I am behind the camera framing a scene of in Photoshop and playing with an image the world disappears. Nothing matters. It might sound crazy but it is like being on a different plane. I start to feel things in an image. Lightening or darkening or cropping becomes less an intellectual process and more a spiritual one. I don’t mean that in the religious sense but in a… I don’t have the words for it but it is almost like tripping. At times it seems almost spiritual. The past, the present and the future exist as one. There is only the photograph you are visualizing. Nothing else matters or exists.

Sounds stupid I bet but it’s true. It’s a wonderful feeling and you never know where it will take you.

It’s like this scene in Jasper. It was the last photograph of the day. The light was quickly changing. The clouds were moving very fast across the vast expanse of the Athabasca. I didn’t know if I had anything to keep or delete but it “felt” right leaving the park for the day and saying that’s enough.

There are as many different reasons for expressing yourself as there are people. Some take pictures only for the fame and popularity proving their value to themselves by how others react to what they do. Others take pictures because it fills a place in our soul.

We all need to discover whatever it is for ourselves. Photography can be an incredible lifelong journey.

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on June 5, 2015.

11 Responses to “Art from the heart. On being a creative soul…”

  1. Thanks for sharing your insights as to what you are experiencing emotionally when you are creating. I totally relate, and I share this same feeling whether I’m creating a digital image, working on a sewing project, or drawing/painting. Time disappears. And in that time frame, life is perfect. Really enjoying your B&W images, including this one. Cheers!

  2. You are very welcome Sandra.

    Isn’t it the case that when you are most lost in the act of creating that the best things result?’

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  3. hi dan –

    you say it very well and i agree with your sentiments.

    the journey of creating is, to me, more satisfying than the end created result.(although liking the final image/essay/dish/whatever is icing on the cake!)

    i also enjoy hearing about others’ ā€” like yours ā€” journeys as well.

    thanks
    marke

  4. Thank you Marke. We have so much in common.

    Dan

  5. Dan, I learned a long time ago that the only person that I really have to please with my photography is me, the artist. Photographers, including your are just that, artists.

    As well, we seem to be taking a parallel course here as I have recently renewed my interest in black and white photography, including infra-red, so I am very interested in getting your blog and seeing the image that you present. I have enjoyed all of them to date. I would urge you to stay the course.

  6. Westernguy you are right. The last thing that I think about is how well received my photos are. Maybe that comes with getting older? The joy is in the creation because as soon as I am finished with a photo it is forgotten and it is on to the next.

    Good luck on the black and white and infrared. It is a different way of seeing and thinking. Not more difficult than color photography just different.

    All the best,
    Dan

  7. Thanks Dan. Who knows, maybe our paths will cross some day.

  8. Look for an old guy with a short white beard who looks stupid standing next to his camera doing nothing but watching the timer. That would be me. LOL

  9. This is yet another reason I love your blog and your perspective. Amazing insights as always.

  10. Thank you Stephen.
    Dan

  11. Great shot.

Leave a Reply

 
