Shooting Infrared Landscapes

infrared, black and white, landscape, trees, grass, summer, Alberta, Dan Jurak, black and white, surreal, fine art, fineart,

Earlier today I made a quick trip out of town to try out my newly converted to infrared camera.

The sky looked right, cumulus clouds with large patches of blue sky behind them and the foliage is now finally green. The rains of yesterday have perked up the foliage a little bit.

Shooting infrared landscapes is much different than using a conventional camera. The standard way is to put an IR filter in front of the lens. Those filters are a very dark red and make it almost impossible to focus with the filter on the lens. The exposures tend to be a bit longer because of the reduced amount of light that reaches the sensor.

Using a converted camera, like the one I have, the camera is only good for infrared but I can shoot without a tripod if I wish and focusing is much easier. Although, the company that converted the camera for me recommends focusing using live view and then taking the shot. Infrared light is much longer than visible. This can cause your image to be out of focus if you are shooting wide open.

The photo above is like a sketch for me. I want to see how the camera captures the landscape. What goes light? What goes dark? The more I use the camera the better the images should be.

One of the things that is different about infrared landscapes is that the middle of the day gives the best results. At that time there is a lot of infrared emanating from foliage. That makes scenes slightly surreal. A different look to be sure.

The RAW image that comes out of the camera is has a strong magenta hue. In post processing the color is removed and a black and white is the result. Oh yeah, blue skies under infrared come out very dark. A nice contrast with puffy, white clouds.

It’s off to Jasper on Thursday for a quick lunch and photos with my two girls. We’ll see what kind of long exposures come back with me. I am looking forward to that.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on June 3, 2015.

4 Responses to “Shooting Infrared Landscapes”

  1. I know you have waited some time for the conditions to right for the IR
    this looks very – very promising – have a good trip and enjoy the lunch
    – having two daughters myself you don’t stand a chance of not picking up the tab

  2. Haven’t seen yourwork in a while-but I have been out and about playing with my camera. This infra-red is interesting, will watch for developments. Like the composition and look forward to photos from Jasper.

  3. Ray, there is a new Famoso Pizza in Jasper where the girls have promised to treat me to lunch. We’ll see. LOL

  4. Jane, I’ll be taking both camera bodies to Jasper tomorrow. The forecast is for overcast and light showers which lends itself more to the traditional camera.
    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
