I never know what to expect…

Country Road

Last night the sky looked interesting so I grabbed my camera gear, hopped into the Rav and followed my eye.

A year ago I wouldn’t have give a second thought to driving out of town under those conditions but this is a year that I have decided to make a break from the comfortable and experiment.

I am experimenting with long exposure photography and am still a novice at it. It is by trial and error that I learn what works and what doesn’t. Should the skies be completely overcast? Are clear skies better? What about a mix of blue sky and clouds?

These are all things that I am slowly finding out by experimenting.

The photo above was the last one that I had taken on Friday evening. The sun had dropped closer to the horizon than I had reckoned and as a result the photo was under exposed. It was underexposed but it looked interesting in an unexpected way.

A half an hour of fiddling with it in Photoshop and the result is something different than I am used to doing.

Expect successes and failures when you are trying something new and never get discouraged. Like the old saying goes, when one door closes another opens and you never really know what to expect.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on May 9, 2015.

6 Responses to “I never know what to expect…”

  1. OK, I’m game. As soon as we get some clouds in the sky I’m practicing evening and night time long exposures!

  2. Emilio, it might look like night time but the photo was taken a half an hour before sunset. It might be the long shadows that give the impression of night time.

    Enjoy experimenting!

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  3. Yes, that’s why I added early evening. I have an ND filter but not strong enough for daylight! Early evening would work well! Thanks, Dan

  4. I think a mix of clear and clouds probably makes for more interesting shapes. Also I love how you refer to ‘the Rav’ as opposed to just saying the car or the truck. I also have one and do the same thing.

  5. Steve, I am finding that for photos where land is in the foregound a mix seems best, so far. I think that if you are shooting over water a cloudy sky would be preferable as the water reflects the sky.

    The Rav, not a bad vehicle for winter and summer around here but boy are the kilometers piling up on it. Once I get my replacement filter from Formatt Hitech I plan on doing a trip to either the mountains or southern Alberta/Saskatchewan and UP go the kms again.

  6. Sounds like fun and gives us something to shoot for when we plan little projects. I forgot most of what I thought that I would try on my little road trip…guess I will have to go back-ha ha!. your photo has such mood, I like the effect.

Leave a Reply

 
