How much are your beautiful photos worth?

landscape, winter, Dan Jurak, Alberta, snow, drifts, snow drift, cold, foggy, Christmas, prairie, trees

“My child arrived just the other day

He came to the world in the usual way

But there were planes to catch and bills to pay

He learned to walk while I was away

And he was talkin’ ‘fore I knew it, and as he grew

He’d say “I’m gonna be like you, Dad

You know I’m gonna be like you””

The first time I actually listened to the lyrics of the song “Cat’s In The Cradle” my eyes welled up with tears. My father passed away at a very young age, he was 32. I was only 6.

I had just turned 20 and was driving my 1969 Econoline camper van to the mountains on yet another weekend for hiking and photography. This was back in ’74 or ’75. It had been years since dad had passed but I could still relate to the little boy without a father. Now at the age of 60 my eyes still moisten thinking about that song.

Like it or not we do grow up to be more like our parents than we wish or want. I lost my father but I was blessed to have a mother who was strong, loving and attentive. She was my greatest fan and source of encouragement. I have two beautiful adult girls, they will always be my little girls with whom I cherish the relationship that we have together. I have always told my wife that when I do take off to the mountains I always end up coming home early because I miss my family. I cannot get home soon enough.

Over the years I have followed the careers of a few aspiring photographers. They are gone from home for weeks at a time in search of the elusive, perfect photograph which is fine when you are a single person without a young family. When you leave that little boy or girl at home for days and weeks at a time you are making a choice, photos over them. Sure they are happy to see you when you return home for the Christmas holidays but like the Harry Chapin song even if they don’t think it it is impressed upon them, “I’m gonna be like you Dad, You know I’m gonna be like you.” Marc?

We seldom realize the consequence of our choices when we are young and foolish but those consequences last a lifetime like it or not.

I love my photographs but I love my children more. So much more. Relationships are so much more important than simple photographs.

Merry Christmas and happy holidays,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on December 19, 2014.

14 Responses to “How much are your beautiful photos worth?”

  1. Great post,Dan!
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  2. Thank you Terry.

    All the best to you and your family,

    Dan

  3. How very true. Family comes first. Thank you and Merry Christmas.

  4. Thank you Bruce and a very merry Christmas to you and your family,
    Dan

  5. thanks, dan, for a wonderful piece of writing ….

  6. Thank you Peter, and a very, very Merry Christmas to you and your family,
    Dan

  7. Yes, I agree completely. And when you put your children in your photos, that is the best! That’s why most of my photos are not “art” at all – they are just my kids. And I look at those more than the “art” photos. Have a good Christmas all!

  8. Flynn, you got it! Although the best photos of our kids were taken by my wife. LOL

    All the best to you and your family! Merry Christmas!

    Dan

  9. That is a lovely photo and story. I have always liked that song by Harry Chapin, it grabs my heart.You are right, relationships are important and that is what this season is about. Thanks for the reminder.Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones, Dan.

  10. Jane, every time I hear that song it gives me pause for thought. For those that are chasing around the world in search of the most beautiful place they are mistaken. The most beautiful place on earth is being close to your children and forming relationships that are more precious than any photo or job.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours,
    Dan

  11. this is all so close to home for me
    as well – it is a song for reflection as
    are your work and thoughts
    – thank you for all your emptying of
    your soul in these posts all year
    – you’ve grown up just like me
    A good man
    Have a Wonderful Christmas and
    an Amazing New Year Dan

  12. Thank you Ray for hanging in here while I write about things other than photography.
    A person very close to me was diagnosed with cancer a few days ago and it made me more aware than ever of how relationships are the most important thing that we have.

    All the best to you and yours, Merry Christmas and all the best in the New Year,
    Dan

  13. the best post of yours since i started reading them a few years ago. good “snack” photo!! merry christmas and a happy 2015.

  14. Ravi, thank you for the kind words. I often wonder how I managed to stray from a strictly photo blog to a blog about life. My apologies for that. LOL

    A very merry Christmas to you and yours and all the best in the New Year and thank you for sticking with me over the years,

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
