Diggin’ the blues

Dan Jurak, landscape, black and white, fineart, fine art, minimalist, scenic, foggy, summer, Alberta, prairie, Photoshop

Lately I can’t help myself from looking through images shot expressly to be displayed in color and visualizing them as black and white. The feeling, the atmosphere, the tone of the photograph changes completely. I converted this to black and white and massaged it only to have it feeling a little flat. With just a touch of blue the image seemed to come to life for me.

With a heavy frost forecast for where I live tomorrow (Thursday) morning, I am anxious to get out with my camera to experiment again. I’ve also been closely watching the weather in the mountains in the hopes of getting away before winter finally locks everything frozen for the next six months.

This photo is more of a quick sketch in Photoshop instead of an earnest effort to create something lasting. I know that I’ll come back to it in a few days and re-work it completely. No biggy. I am doing this purely to amuse myself and see what results. After a year of being bored by photography I am feeling more excited about the possibilities ahead.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on November 12, 2014.

6 Responses to “Diggin’ the blues”

  1. I am a very big fan of the blues – music cut down to the bone – just running on emotion – when I first heard a rainy night in Georgia … I was sitting in that boxcar with him – this is like that

  2. This one is very fantastic it really has the early morning feel to it

  3. That is the beauty of digital. Fantastic image.

  4. This is a long ways away from Georgia Ray. LOL

  5. Thank you Valent. Taken just after sunrise on a very foggy, misty morning.
    Dan

  6. Thank you Dan.

Leave a Reply

 
