Photograph what you know

landscape, fineart, fine art, black and white, black & white, landscape, Alberta, Dan Jurak, gravel road, moody, foggy, dark, minimalist

They say that familiarity breeds contempt. Maybe it does but familiarity also offers insight.

Maybe I am too lazy to make the trip to the mountains every weekend like I did when I was in my early twenties? Maybe I am making the most of my time when I photograph what is close to me? I’ve been watching the forecast for the past few days deciding on the right time to take a trip to the mountains. I’ve got a few ideas that I am interested in trying out now that I am in this phase of trying to see things differently.

Whatever the answer I am sometimes pleasantly surprised by how the plain and ordinary can look different with some inspiration, perspiration and motivation.

In the province that I live, Alberta there are thousands upon thousands of nondescript gravel roads. These are roads that hardly anyone ever looks twice at. They are taken for granted and on occasion look like an eyesore.

Here is my take on one of those places that with a little work can look different and isn’t that really what all of us are trying to do? We all want to separate ourselves from the crowd to varying degrees. It’s a statement about who we are.

Happy shooting,

Dan

 

~ by Dan Jurak on November 11, 2014.

9 Responses to “Photograph what you know”

  1. Nice one!
    I know when I’m past it as a picture taker I will have a library full of images to explore again and again with digital manipulation without leaving the house.

  2. @ Stephen, you’re so very right. Taking the photos is only half the fun.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  3. Perfection….and beauty can always be found at home if only we learn how to look…..

  4. Finally… light at the end of the road!! Geez Dan the other big benefit is you don’t have to fight with a horde of photogs trying to get the best angle. LOL

  5. Bob, the first thing I do when I see other people with cameras is to put my foot on the accelerator and drive on by. I really don’t understand photographers who can stand shoulder to shoulder, cameras all pointed in the same direction. That seems to be counter to doing anything creative.

    Thank you for your visits and comments,
    Dan.

  6. Dan, I just gave your work a plug on another blog post and am re-blogging your article and his. The author/photographer was making comparisons between the grand landscape and the smaller intimate portraits, the difference being how one sees and interprets what is given.Thanks for your vision and helping me wake up to a different way of seeing.

  7. Reblogged this on My Heartsong and commented:
    One photographer whose work teaches me how to approach photography.

  8. Thank you for the heads up Jane.
    Dan

  9. you are welcome.

Leave a Reply

 
