I Photograph PooP

Dan Jurak, landscape, fineart, fine art, long exposure, black and white, poop, manure, clouds, sky, prairie, farm, rural,

Some people make it their mission to visit the most photogenic places on the planet to shoot landscapes. There are well known landscape photographers that I have no clue as to where they live. They are always in Death Valley, the Yukon, Zion Nattional Park, Banff, Jasper, etc. but will I ever see a photograph of where they live? There is something about the grass always being greener on the other side of the fence that applies here.

Nothing wrong with traveling to faraway and exotic places. Nothing at all. I think though that many mistakenly believe that being in the Tombstone Range in the Yukon or some similarly far away place will indeed push them over the top whatever that is. Or maybe it’s because those photos are much more popular and get the sought after “likes” and “faves”. Whatever.

Exotic for me yesterday was kneeling in a field of freshly spread manure taking in that fragrant aroma as a cool autumn wind pushed the clouds across the sky. Against the distant western horizon was a regal and magnificent pile of cow manure from the nearby dairy operation waiting to be spread. Clouds swirled around it as the do near the summit of Everest. Standing alone and dwarfing the flat prairie it dominated the landscape. πŸ™‚ Maybe one day I would climb it I thought.

How did I end up here when I could have just as easily driven to the mountains? I know that if the light and weather is right, interesting photos can be taken almost anywhere. I have seen a gazillion poor pictures of Mount Rundle and Vermillion Lake in Banff that don’t deserve a second glance. Why? The shooter wasn’t aware of the light or the weather. Those are as or maybe MORE important than your subject. That is why I didn’t drive the 400 kilometers to take me to the “other” mountains.

I don’t usually venture far from home with my camera these days and had been by this poop filled field many times. Until yesterday the photograph never seemed to be there when passing by. It was always the buildings on the nearby dairy farm that caught my eye. Not so on this trip.

I do know that my dog was really curious about where I was when I got home. LOL Maybe next time I’ll take him with me.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on November 2, 2014.

14 Responses to “I Photograph PooP”

  1. dan, i am laughing!

    i had just replied to your previous post a moment ago when i saw a new email come in. it was you, and… poop!

    i live in dairy country, deliver (packaged) dairy, and out here they are very big on spraying out a potent mixture on the fields this time of year from trucks criss-crossing the fields. you are a stronger man than i am if you can be kneeling so close and doing a long exposure (judging from the clouds.) i would do a “spray and pray” approach, so as not to get sprayed on.

    keep ’em coming!
    marke

  2. Marke, it was the fragrant poop smell not to be confused with the smell from hog operations which is vile.

    Take care,

    Dan

  3. I pray some day to be as poopular as you Dan

  4. @ Ray, careful what u wish for. LOL

  5. Best pooh shot ever! πŸ™‚

  6. @ Mjollnir, why thank you. πŸ™‚ LOL

  7. Another interesting and thoughtful post, Dan! You may photograph poop but you do it very well! Keep up the good work!

  8. This photo has mystery, movement and great quality of light. I like it being in the centre. I am glad it doesn’t contain a “scratch and sniff” section, but my memory and imagination works well for me. Great use of eye and camera, Dan.

  9. @ Terry, maybe it is an overstatement that you can photograph cow poop and make it interesting but I think that it is worth repeating that message for those who blindly follow others to the prettiest places on earth and thank you for the kind words,
    Dan

  10. @ Jane, it hadn’t occurred to me to have a scratch and sniff pad. LOL Truthfully though the field wasn’t a terrible place to be. If you like cattle it was actually nice.

    Thanks as always for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  11. Agree totally. I spend a lot of photographing my back yard -it does happen to be a quarter section in Central AB. But still I do not have to travel miles to enjoy shooting. I have seen great images shot in city parks. Courtney Milne in his last years took great delight in photographing a pool in his backyard.

  12. My friend and I were horse fanatics and did not roll up the windows as we approached the stables just took it all in, so I understand.

  13. Sometimes you only need look a little closer to find beauty. It’s like the people that move away to solve their problems and find that they have found them again no matter where they go.
    Thank you for your visits and comments Mike,
    Dan

  14. There is something attractive about those animal smells isn’t there? LOL

Leave a Reply

 
