I’ll be back in a bit… maybe

Seven hundred plus posts in the trash. This isn’t an impulse decision.

My interest in photography and blogging about it has dwindled. It’s time for a new direction. Everything seems old and having been done a million times before.

New directions lead to new horizons, I hope.

It’s possible that I will re-visit this place so I will maintain a skeleton presence here on WordPress.

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on October 8, 2014.

13 Responses to “I’ll be back in a bit… maybe”

  1. Sorry to see you go. Let me know where the wind takes you. 🙂 I loved seeing your work.

  2. Best of luck in whatever your new endeavor may be.

  3. You will be missed!

  4. Good luck to you Dan. Thanks for all those words over the years.

  5. Wow – you have kept me in the light all this time Dan – hope I don’t slide into the dark side – you have been a joy to follow – all the best to you – hope to see you every so often in this electronic world
    -Sept 2 was the last time I was out shooting – but I did buy myself a bass guitar I am trying to find my way around – also bought 3 piles of motorcycle parts (back to my first love) should have one on the road this spring – the evolution continues

  6. @ Ray, we grow through change.

    Shooting landscapes at least how I have done in the past has become stale and it’s time to either quit and return to it in a few years or to walk a different path photographically and become a beginner all over again. Learning new things has always been rewarding. There are so many excellent photographers out there right now and from them I see very little originality. It’s now possible to recognize which photographers are followers of the “stars” of the internet. The locations are all the same. The processing is all the same. The pictures are all the same.

    What is lacking today is the creativity in the next generation of landscape shooters. It’s difficult for some, make that most, to make a break from the pack and be different. After all, who doesn’t like to have a few thousand followers and likes when they post their photos? We’re all victims of the Facebook generation, me included.

    Who cares what I do or what I shoot. If I ever have something important or interesting to post, I will. Right now, it seems like I am on a treadmill doing the same thing over and over again.

    BTW, was that a BASSpro guitar for fishing? LOL

    Good for you to have more than one interest. The most interesting people are the ones that have their hands in many different things.

    All the best,

    Dan

  7. Dan, I fully respect your decision and wish you all the best in your pursuits. I have to say, it hurts though. I’ve followed your journey through your photography for many years now and have been forever inspired by your work. When you started to photograph at night, you sounded like a kid at Christmas. That excitement, that passion and that wanting to learn. That is what resonates with me.

    I drove through Wyoming the other day and pulled off a dirt road in the middle of nowhere, to take a picture of a tree. It was beautiful. I took a 2 week road trip through Wyoming and Montana a few years ago on 2 lane highway and dirt roads. I barely saw Glacier Park and the Tetons. I was out in the prairie, the open space and the seemingly “nothingness” landscape.

    Every time I wake early, make coffee and debate whether going out in the cold or rain/snow is worth it, I think about you waking early and doing the same. Just to photograph a tree, a fence or a bale of hay. Then I go:)

    Thank you so much for all your inspiration and I sincerely wish you the best in your journey. If you do reappear somewhere online, I’ll find you. When I make it to Alberta, I’ll shoot you a message as I’d love to say hi and thank you in person. Until then, enjoy sleeping in:) Eric

  8. @ Eric, your post really hit home with me this morning. It’s Thanksgiving up here in Canada and I received your post while preparing turkey and stuffing for a family dinner later today. Thanksgiving is supposed to be about being appreciative of all that we are blessed with. Your comments really drove that home.

    Over the years I have appreciated all the support and enthusiasm that was shared with the readers of this blog. I am regretful that I often got sidetracked about what is wrong with the photography world instead of singing the praises of the positives and there are oh so many.

    Let me share a little secret with you and anyone who reads these comments, I am coming back. I have NOT left photography. One of the reasons we are here is to experience and learn new things and that is the direction photography is taking me. There is so much that is new to me and so very much to learn.

    If or when I have enough to share I will start writing again. Until then I feel like a beginner. You know the old saying, “It’s better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than open it and remove all doubt.”. That is where I am right now.

    I appreciate all the comments that you have made over the years. You and others are the reason that I will continue to write.

    Happy Thanksgiving Eric!

  9. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family and a sincere thank you:)
    Eric

  10. Dan,

    This reader is looking forward to hearing about new adventures and seeing new views. May your new path be as fulfilling as your previous ones have been.

    Dale

  11. @ Dale, Don’t hold your breath this is gonna take some time. 😉

    Thank you for the wishes,

    Dan

  12. Thanks for sharing your thoughts over the years. They have changed my view on landscape photography. I wish you good luck on your new adventure.

  13. @ Ravi, you are very welcome. I hope your views have changed for the better. LOL

    Thank you so much,

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
