Things are slowly improving on the prairie…

After a morning when there were no photos to be had, at least not by me, because I’ve seen professional workshop photographers claim that you can successfully shoot landscapes in ANY weather, sigh…, I headed out for a short evening drive.

We’re getting into that wonderful time of year when there’s enough moisture in the area that can make for great evening clouds, morning fog and beautiful afternoon storms. I hope that by weeks end we’ll be into full swing and the photos and blog posts will become more regular.

Before I head out I usually check the local weather radar to see what if anything is headed this way. The AMA or Alberta Motor Association operates a series of highway web cams that I frequently watch to see what the weather and not the roads look like. Thank you AMA. Can you put a couple of cameras on Highway 11, aka the David Thomson Highway from Rocky Mountain House to Saskatchewan River Crossing in Banff? Pretty please. Environment Canada’s radar station at Carvel has been down for a few days so I couldn’t see what weather systems might be headed my way. The highway cams alternately showed clear skies and cloudy skies west of me.

More out of frustration of having not gotten anything in the morning, I went for a short drive north of Edmonton. The clouds were looking heavy overhead but it looked clear near the western horizon. It might be perfect I thought. When the sun sets, if there is just enough clearing on the horizon the sun will light up the bottoms of the clouds and it can make for a spectacular sky.

That was not to be. As the sun set, the horizon glowed for a few minutes while I was looking for a suitable foreground to shoot. Nothing special but I know that things are only going to improve.

I rattled off a variety of shots as the sky quickly darkened and then it was back into the vehicle and off to bed. From 3:45 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. makes for a long day but not when you’re doing what you love to do.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on June 12, 2012.

11 Responses to “Things are slowly improving on the prairie…”

  1. What an awesome shot! Love it. :)

  2. Love the image with the dramatic clouds!

  3. Greetings! Awesome picture!! Gotta follow along like everyone else….you have a marvelous talent.

  4. Beautiful photo I must say (:

  5. @ Amelia, thank you and thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  6. @ Rick, thank you. They’re bound to get better over the next few weeks. :)

  7. @ FlysAtNightWoman, thank you for the kind words. Landscapes are something that everyone who has access to a camera can do. No mysteries to it.

  8. @ Two Troublesome K9s, thank you. Love the dogs. :)

  9. Its funny…
    I never get ‘frustrated’ when I don’t see the ‘results’ I want to see.
    Landscape photography is so much more though. It regenerates my batteries, it is soothing for the mind… etc
    Frustration is never part of what I do…

  10. Thank you for the that wisdom.

  11. I like that, “… doing what you like to do.” please do!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

