Angie Cramer’s Alberta prairie…

Flickr is a wonderful place to share and also to discover other photographers. And so it was last week while checking out a contacts photos that I came across a friend of his, Angie Cramer.

There are millions of photos on Flickr and it’s easy to get lost in the crowd. So much talent is there hidden among the family albums, snapshots, etc. When I came upon Angie’s photo stream I was immediately drawn into it. It’s easy for anyone to get one or two great images. Anyone can get lucky with light, weather and processing. Angie’s photo stream was filled with beautiful, moody and artful images of the prairie.

As someone who shoots mainly on the prairie, I was struck by how different Angie’s photos look like from mine. A similar landscape, hers might be even more open and more flat than where I live but it has a distinctly southern Alberta look to it.

There is a dreamy, lost in time quality in her photos. A photo that can take you away from where you are, to another place and another time is a photo that tells it’s story well and Angie’s photos weave an interesting tale of times and memories from the past on the prairie.

I have long believed that the better those are around me, the better I will become. In sharing Angie’s work with you, I hope you become inspired and that it adds to your own unique way of seeing and capturing the world around you.

Take a moment from your day to visit Angie’s photo stream on Flickr. I know that you’ll be as inspired and motivated as I was when I first viewed it.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on October 14, 2011.

16 Responses to “Angie Cramer’s Alberta prairie…”

  1. Thank you for sharing, and making me loose an hour of work :) Got absolutely lost in her work.

  2. @ Mac, sorry about the lost time. LOL

  3. Great photos Dan! Photos #1 and #4 captured my eyes. Photo #3 brings to my mind a wooden church built by female wood artist in Finland.

    Lovely photos all of them, really.

    Your photos are always quality photos Dan.

  4. That first photo stopped me in my tracks! Its awesome! Its art! I would love to take pictures like that. Thank you for sharing Angie’s work.

  5. @ Sartenada, those aren’t my photos, they are the work of Alberta photographer Angie Cramer. They are lovely aren’t they.

  6. Thanks for sharing Dan. Beautiful photos

  7. Beautiful work Angie. I can’t believe I’m saying this but some of her images are making me look forward to winter. Thanks, Dan.

  8. I’m really glad you discovered her work!……..she’s not only a fantastic photographer but a most wonderful person as well!

  9. I know Angie personally and her work has been an inspiration to me for years. She has made me fall in love with the prairies. She is an incredible artist and a wonderful person too…

  10. A wonderful site, thank you for sharing it Dan. Good clouds tonight, maybe they will stay for the morning.

  11. @ Bryan, you’re welcome. It was my pleasure help showcase Angie’s wonderful photos.

    Keeping fingers crossed about the morning. :)

  12. Thank you for directing us to Angie’s work. She is incredible and I, too, just spent an hour looking at her complete photo stream. I also love your blog, Dan, and hope you don’t stay away from posting too long.

  13. @ Nancy, I only feature photographers whose work I find inspiring and unique. Angie’s certainly fits the bill.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting.

    Dan

  14. I have been following your blog for about a year and always find it inspiring, but this post really hit me. We have started a little camera club here in Sundre and your quote, “I have long believed that the better those are around me, the better I will become.” is really the philosophy of why we want to meet once a month and talk photography. And secondly Angie’s work blew me away. I am now “inspired” to try some images with textured backgrounds. I have shared your blog with the members of our club. Thanks Dan

  15. @ Mike, thank you for the kind words. Angie’s work is truly exceptional.

    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  16. Great work,Thanks for sharing this post with us.keep it up.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

