I love the weather in Alberta

Light and the weather.

The two most important elements of a landscape photograph. What weather we had today, Sunday in central Alberta.

I make a habit of checking the weather forecast before I go to bed and then again when I get up in the morning. Sometimes you’ll get lucky and be able to wake up to interesting weather.

Saturday night all the conditions were looking good for my favorite morning weather, fog. With a forecast humidity of 96 percent, cold air, clear skies and no breeze, things seemed to me to be ideal except that Environment Canada never mentioned it.

Well, up at 6:30 Sunday morning and from my living room window things didn’t look promising but I have learned that what I see from my house is not always what it’s like outside of town.

With the conditions great for a fog but not seeing any, I still packed the Toyota and off I went. Within fifteen minutes I was slowing down to 60 km/h on the highway because of how incredibly thick the suddenly come upon fog was.

Great! I was out of town early to get to a spot I wanted to shoot and had plenty of time to be there before sunrise. I arrived half an hour before sunrise and everything was socked in. The light had little direction and was very, very blue. Silhouettes were what I was looking for until sunrise.

About the time the sun was supposed to rise, it got a little brighter but the fog was so thick now that I couldn’t see the sun or any clear sky above me.

No matter. I thought now would be a great time to see some new countryside and with that, off I went. By 10:00 am it was still foggy and gray out. In fact, it was down right dangerous to drive on the highway at times. Things were not looking good. I was hoping that the sun, wherever it was would start to burn some fog away to reveal itself.

Around 10:30 am it happened. The sky magically opened and for an hour I had wonderful light. As quickly as it appeared the sun disappeared for the rest of the day. Sigh.

You can’t control the weather.

Tonight the forecast is for morning fog patches and already the sky is clear. Here’s to hoping for more winter magic.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on December 27, 2009.

5 Responses to “I love the weather in Alberta”

  1. Beautiful photo–a little spruce out on the prairies always goes a long way. Forecast looks good for tomorrow…

  2. Jonathan, it’s 7:35 Monday morning and it’s foggy but it’s also cloudy. In fact, I think it’s too cloudy for photos. Cheers – Dan

  3. Ah, I love the effects of fog in photography. Here’s to happy shooting. Hope the weather’s just right for you.

  4. Beautiful pictures of our beautiful Alberta! Keep ‘em coming Dan! We appreciate them!

  5. Cevraini, there’s always lots of weather here. :) Right now it’s very gray and flat outside. Pretty but not great for photos. Thanks for visiting.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

