Our Heritage on the Prairies is Being Lost…

CemetaryThis weekend I had plans of making it out to Abraham Lake near Nordegg to get more mountain landscapes. David Thompson country is a beautiful and oft neglected area of Alberta. It’s proximity to Jasper and Banff makes it the poor sister of the three.

Instead of going into someone else’s back yard to take pictures, I ended up in mine.  Early Saturday evening the skies were looking promising. Just the right amount of cloud and open sky. Would the clouds disappear completely and give me an empty, blue space above the horizon? Would the clouds close in completely and get the opposite, a dark, featureless sky?

It turned out to be a lovely evening. As I headed north out of Edmonton, I could see a cloud front on the horizon. As I pulled off the highway in Fedorah, a black sky awaited across the valley. I saw one lightning strike as the storm blew through the county but failed to catch it with the camera.

This cemetary is familiar to me. Being only twenty minutes from where I live I pass by it frequently. When the light is right, it’s a great place to be.

What  never noticed until I planted the camera is that a very, very old wooden cross, a grave marker had finally rotted away on the bottom and fallen to the ground. Or maybe it was pushed? Whatever the cause, this old marker, maybe close to one hundred years old or more will soon be gone. Happily I have photos of it still standing.

I continued on after shooting the cemetary, looking for photo opportunities. Getting close to sunset, I had planned on shooting a very old, small, wooden granary. Last year when I shot it, it was tilted at a 45 degree angle, looking ready to collapse. As I reached the crest of the hill where the granary was, something was different.

It had collapsed. Where a rustic, interesting old granary once stood was a pile of stick with the outline of a roof sitting on top of them. Another prairie relic gone.

It struck me as I drove home that evening, how nature reclaims it’s own. Every season we lose more and more of our prairie history. Capture it while you can. One day the old wooden buildings will all be gone.

Landscape photography isn’t all about the mountains or pretty waterfalls, it is also about where we live.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on May 10, 2009.

3 Responses to “Our Heritage on the Prairies is Being Lost…”

  1. Excellent image Dan. And you know that I absolutely love the photography opportunities where you live!

  2. Great shot Dan, and may I say, some very deep insight as well. Your shots make me wish to go out and shoot some landscapes of my own =D
    Looking to more posts and shots,

    Rabi

  3. Thank you Rabi. The internet is a wonderful place to find inspiration. I am always amazed by the quality of work I stumble upon.

    I hope you do get fired up and get out to do more shooting.

    Dan. :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

