It’s a blah kind of day

black and white, fog, foggy, pasture, landscape, Alberta, Dan Jurak, prairie, rural

Pouring rain. Buckets and buckets of rain. All day the forecast is for rain.

Tomorrow? More rain.

Instead of grabbing my camera gear and going for a drive today was a day spent playing with photos that didn’t pass the first edit. Often times that means a photo that looked good when I took it but on processing it in color it didn’t work. Instead of deleting it forever, if the light and shapes are workable the image sometimes looks better in black and white.

Black and white is never a consideration for me when shooting. I prefer color. I always have. One is no better or worse than the other

I see color and I see lots of rain.

Maybe one day I’ll become an “art” photographer and shoot black and whites? LOL

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 14, 2013.

5 Responses to “It’s a blah kind of day”

  1. Just spoke with MHat – not raining there. I too like to take my less-than-great shots (which are many) and play with them – convert to black and white, test them out in photoshopping programs, crop, etc etc etc. Lost many hours that way.

  2. @ Lynne, southern Alberta is clear or at least that’s what I see on the forecasts. From Tuesday on we’re forecast to have clear skies and the high twenties till at least the weekend.
    Danhttp://danjurak.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit-comments.php#comments-form

  3. I like the image, very moody. Yup it sure looks like it is socked in-will appreciate the sunny days even more than I do now.

  4. I also prefer color photography, but this photo is awesome. A mystical mood. I like it!

    Greetings
    Sonja

  5. @ Sonja, both color and black and white can be effective. For this photo, black and white was the better choice but for me that is usually not the case.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

