Some things only last for a short time…

It’s seldom that I ever have a specific place in mind for a photograph. Because my photographs depend more on the light and the weather I tend to take pictures wherever I happen to be when all the right elements line up.

I tend to chase clouds. Wherever interesting skies take me is where I am found taking my best photos. It’s not often that I plan on being at a predetermined place. Monday evening that changed if only for a few days. As it got closer to sunset the clouds started to block the horizon. You know what happens. Before a proper sunset can take place, the sun hides behind the clouds and what could have been a dazzling sky quickly fades away.

Just as the sun was making itself scarce I came upon this wheat field. What caught my eye was the slightly curving path that the tracks were taking toward the horizon. Usually the tracks are straight and not as interesting to the eye as this gentle “S” bend.

I quickly got out and before I could do much the sun was gone. I will return though. Hopefully because the wheat isn’t quite ready for harvesting it might be standing for a few more days. Unlike trees and roads these crops are as ethereal as clouds, changing from one moment to the next.

As I write this on Tuesday evening, the skies are dark with storm clouds and the horizon is nowhere to be seen. Stay tuned. I have high expectations for this spot!

Happy shooting,

Dan

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on August 29, 2012.

6 Responses to “Some things only last for a short time…”

  1. I have a practical question for you. Are there no fences where you shoot? How do you “get low” with those fantastic perspectives without trespassing behind a fence? We have some fabulous rural countryside here in Tennessee, but fences abound…

  2. @ 1107photography, There are plenty of fences in central Alberta. Where there are only grain crops and no cattle, land owners don’t usually put up a fence. There’s no need for one. If you have cattle graze your fields then of course you need a fence. About trespassing, it’s no big deal to hop a three strand fence, snap a photo and hop back to the road. Farm houses are usually a mile or half a mile apart from one another. If there were a house close by, I’d shoot through the fence.

  3. can you share this spot, like which road. i am a new immigrant and would just like see the type of roads you drive. your photos are awesome.

  4. I live in edmonton too

  5. @ Vinja, a big part of shooting landscapes is the process of discovery. It is by discovering places on your own that you have a more intimate connection with them. It also wouldn’t be right of me to provide directions to someone’s private property. Any place out of town is a great place to start. They’re all good directions.

  6. Beautiful landscape photo, Dan, and love that sky!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 601 other followers

