My favorite kind of photo?

I’ve been going through a lot of photos that I’ve taken over the past few years for posting to the Fine Art America website for printing. Since my contracts with my agencies allow me to sell the photos that I have with them as fine art prints, I have access to a lot of my early images.

One thing that I immediately noticed is how over a few short years my taste in pictures has changed. For the better I hope. Some early photos had me cringing and wondering what both the agency that accepted them and I were thinking. Today some of those stock photos would be immediately deleted from my camera and not even have made it to the computer. I almost felt like writing a letter of apology for having submitted some of them. LOL But I didn’t. They still earn me money. :)

Change should be a part of your growth as an artist. It’s not possible to ever be “there”, that is, to say that you have nothing left to learn or refine. Having access to millions of photographs on the internet has definitely made me a better artist. Anytime you see someone else’s work you become influenced even if it’s just a little bit. Really, there is nothing new under the sun. We all borrow and steal from others while creating, either consciously or unconsciously. We something that works for us or that we like and in our own way we adapt it to how we see.

The one constant in all the photos that I’ve taken that I still like is mood. The photo at the top is representative of what I mean. I think that many of us are so preoccupied with following the rules of art, composition and photography that we forget the one thing that separates a common photo from an uncommon one, that is mood. Like Olivier wrote yesterday, a photo that invites you into it and can evoke an emotion is one that is successful.

I definitely like landscapes that are unusual. In one of the groups that I moderate on Flickr, there are dozens, no thousands of photos that have been rejected. They were taken in drop dead, gorgeous places but they didn’t cut it because they had no feeling to them. They could have been taken by anyone on any day of the year at any time of the day. Just like the millions of photos that are taken at Lake Louise. Stop. Point the camera. Shoot. Next.

I was out on Monday evening and fall is close. Kind of. Some of the crops have been harvested. Others are like the barley above. A little bit ripe and a little bit green. Definitely the air is cooler in the evening. I soooo love autumn. It can be so moody.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on August 28, 2012.

7 Responses to “My favorite kind of photo?”

  1. Hey Dan… check the link to your Fine Art page (t’is wrong, I beleive).

    also, is that barley or wheat?

  2. okay, it’s barley. i often mix them up. found a good reference here

    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_are_similarties_and_difference_in_wheat_and_barley

  3. @ Steve, barley is the easy one. The long beard is a giveaway. It’s also the most attractive for photos IMO.

  4. this is so beautiful.. the lighting, the barley, its perfect.. I have to say that I always look forward to your daily posts.

  5. @ Vicki, thank you. There are so many perfect moments on the prairie and this past Sunday was one of them. I’ll try to keep the posts daily. LOL Some days there doesn’t seem to be anything to write about.
    Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  6. Love the mood in this! Beautiful!

  7. Stunning! Love this kind of image. :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 648 other followers

