No matter where you live, it’s exotic to someone, somewhere…

I went out this morning. The forecast the previous evening had me salivating. I double checked everything. Made sure that the battery in my new camera was charged. It wasn’t. Double checked all the settings on the camera for bracketing so that I wouldn’t spend half the morning shooting on the wrong setting and went to bed early.

A nice thing about us getting closer to fall is that sunrise is getting later by the day. Today it was at 6:15 a.m. What a difference six weeks makes when it was rising just after 5:00 a.m. I got to sleep in a bit but was still up just before five.

As I left town, listening to a repeat of Coast To Coast AM on the radio, the sky wasn’t looking so great. Often times, once I get twenty minutes out, it will change dramatically and the temperature will drop. Twenty minutes later the thermometer on the Rav read 6 degrees Celsius. That’s as cold as it’s been in a while.

Nothing really materialized as the sun made it’s way upward towards the horizon. Nothing really inspired me. For as much as I looked to find lines or symmetry or interesting contrasts, it just wasn’t happening. And that happens sometimes.

Just so that I would have something to play with when I got home, I stopped the Rav near a wheat field as the sun popped up. Looking back, I snapped a few of the road and made my way home.

I looked at what I shot when I got home and wasn’t impressed or excited. It was only a few hours later that I got to thinking, the mundane to me can be exotic to someone who never gets to the prairies. The hundreds of kilometers of gravel roads and electrical poles are a common, everyday sight. What the heck I thought and I processed this shot.

When we think of landscapes very often we are thinking of that most exotic and picturesque place. My exotic might be someone’s back yard or the other way around.

The logs on my website show visitors from everywhere on earth. From Australia, to Singapore, to Germany. And what are they looking at? The country side that everyone here drives by without taking a second look at.

Don’t take for granted where you live. No doubt, it’s exotic to someone.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on August 15, 2012.

7 Responses to “No matter where you live, it’s exotic to someone, somewhere…”

  1. Hey Dan, I am one of your viewers from Australia and I LOVE looking at your “mundane”!! Love having a look at what is happening on the other side of the world, especially beacuse the seasons are reversed.

    Love your site and the window into your world you offer us.
    Thanks from Sydney Australia (where it is winter and was also only 6c this morning!!!)

  2. @ Mac, G’day mate! :) Thank you for putting a smile on my face. The internet can be a wonderful thing can’t it. It can open windows for all of us to places that are distant in geography or time. Our loss of the sun is your gain. Very soon we’ll be having frosty mornings and then five or six months of snow. The changing of the seasons is one of the things that I love best about living this far north.

    I’ll gladly trade places with you on one of our mornings when it dips to -30C but that won’t be for a few more months yet.

    Thanks for making my day,

    Dan

  3. Hey Dan, I concur fully with Mac’s comment! I am one of your visitors from Singapore, stumbled upon your site and I love your landscapes to bits! We certainly don’t have any of your “mundane” views over at our end – we are more like a concrete jungle.

    And love your views on how it all depends on the light, not on the landscape and how you put photography into perspective in light of the journey of life. Keep up the great work, you are inspiring people you have never met!

  4. @ Zhiwel, thank you for the kind words. I’ve seen beautiful photos taken around Singapore. They do look very exotic compared to the dirt roads and flat prairie where I live. That’s a good thing about the internet. We can share thoughts and ideas across great distances.

    Thank you again for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

  5. You’re so right about that Dan. Whenever we have visitors they are always blown away by the openness of land and sky. But, I do have to say that I am still always mesmerized by the beauty of the place in which I live. Thanks for a lovely post.

  6. It’s funny you should post this…I live in Australia and was out yesterday looking for photo ops, but unfortunately nothing was inspiring me to pull the car over. As I was driving home past countless gum trees and feeling a bit dejected (as I do when I come home empty handed) I got to thinking – just because I see this sort of scenery everyday and find it somewhat boring, maybe it doesn’t necessarily mean that everyone else will.

    So yeah, it’s good to read that someone else has the same thoughts.

    Keep up the good work, Dan. I enjoy reading your posts!

  7. @ Greg, I think that no matter where we are or when we are, the human experience is universal. Thank you for visiting and commenting,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 655 other followers

