Storms have two faces

Saturday’s evening storm left me with a lot of photos to choose from. I’ve written before that when I shoot, I do it like a mad man. The light or weather is usually only good for a short time so for me it’s important to get all that I can. One shot per sunrise or sunset doesn’t seem very practical but there are those who will compose, wait, compose, wait some more and then compose again before shooting. Not me. I don’t have that patience.

As I was driving home for the first time, if you remember I came and went three times that evening, I still kept an eye on the sky. You can shoot just about anywhere on the prairie if the conditions are right.

I was about ten minutes from home when a rainbow materialized to my left. I immediately pulled over and took a shot. That was my insurance in case the rainbow disappeared as quickly as it appeared. I then drove another few hundred meters when a low spot in a wheat field caught my eye. Instead of the wheat there being ripe, it was a bright green, standing out from everything else. I quickly shot three or four variations of this before the rainbow dissolved into the clouds.

Half an hour earlier the sky looked brooding and foreboding, full of energy and force. Now it was delicate and fragile looking. Same storm. Different side.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on August 7, 2012.

8 Responses to “Storms have two faces”

  1. Lovely shot to catch so much of the rainbow

  2. I also will shoot on impulse (that voice in my head) then move on. I’m short on patience also.

  3. @ Monte, birds of a feather?

  4. And, I have tendency to get may pants dirty.

  5. Wow, what a rainbow. I’ve never seen one like this. Too bad they are so fleeting.

  6. Reblogged this on DesignHouse9 and commented:
    You don’t often see a rainbow like this. Click on the photo to enlarge it. And enjoy this beauty, particularly since all rainbows are so fleeting.

  7. @ Kate, because rainbows are so fleeting, they are more special. It didn’t last very long and now when I drive by that spot it seems kind of empty.

    Dan

  8. I agree. Anytime it is raining or just rained and the sun comes out, I look for rainbows. I’m forever hopeful! I was once at a stoplight and saw a rainbow. Everyone around me was just looking ahead at the road and light. I wanted to get out and scream “Look at the rainbow!” and point passionately in its direction.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

