The magic of the prairie

Earlier today was one of those special mornings that I look forward to. They only happen a few times of the year.

I had planned during my retirement that I would spend more time photographing the mountains. I haven’t. I’ll probably still get out there before and after the snow flies but right now the prairie is too beautiful. It’s full of magic. Best of all, it’s only minutes from where I live.

Sunrise today was at 5:45 a.m. At 4:20 a.m. the alarm went off. I looked out of our bedroom window to see the leaves on the maple trees behind our house perfectly still and the skies clear. It’s been humid around here lately. While there’s been a terrible drought in the American midwest, the prairies of western Canada have been practically drowning in moisture. I read somewhere that if global warming does occur, we can expect to become less arid up here and the states will be much drier. Good for us I suppose, bad for them.

I headed out in a north easterly direction with no idea of where I’d end up. There were distant clouds on the horizon and I figured that somewhere below them would be where I’d be taking pictures. After a bit, I could see that the sun was almost at the horizon. I crossed the highway and as I did the sun popped up. Quickly pulling over, I grabbed my gear from the back of the Rav and with the tall grasses and fence in the foreground captured the sun as popped up, bathing the landscape in a golden glow. The morning fog softly diffused the light and the air was fresh with the smell of canola blossoms.

Back in the Rav and down the road. Coming to an intersection, I turned right, which had me facing the sun. On the north side of the road was a just blossoming canola crop and a grove of trees. I stopped again and grabbed the camera. Here’s the magical part of my morning. As I made my way to the opposite side of the road, I could make out the silhouette of a pair of deer ears and head. The ears were facing me, pointing forward and alert. The deer stood motionless for a moment, all of her attention focused towards me.

Another step and it bounced and bounded further into the canola and disappeared in the fog. I wish that I could have captured that because it indeed did look like something out of a dream.

An hour later with many more photos having been taken I was headed home with the windows of the Rav wide open and music playing on the radio. What a great start to the day!

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 29, 2012.

5 Responses to “The magic of the prairie”

  1. Awesome, you rock!

  2. this is just beautiful! I love Alberta..

  3. @ Ravi, No. YOU rock!

  4. @ Vicki, thank you. It’s not just Alberta that looks like this. It’s anywhere YOU happen to be.

  5. That is an amazing image!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

