I think this is why they make photo filters?

Ahh, fall is just around the corner. How do I know that? Well, a few weeks ago, sunrise was at 5:07 a.m. this morning it was around 5:40 a.m. That gave me a whole extra half an hour to sleep in. LOL

The weatherman finally nailed it when they forecast fog developing overnight. I’ve been out so many times before when it was forecast only to be greeted with clear skies, a nice breeze and no fog.

The morning started out slowly with the sun seemingly taking an extra long time to rise above the horizon. Once it did, it was beautiful. On some mornings the sun will shine through the fog and have very little color. This morning, everything seemed orange.

What you see on the accompanying image is the color that the camera recorded. I didn’t add or take away any of the red/yellow/orange. This is the color straight out of my RAW processor and into Photoshop. With a little darkening of the shadows I was done post processing.

Seeing all the warm colors while I was doing my first edit in camera, I thought that this is precisely why filter makers make color intensifiers or sunrise filters, etc. It’s to mimic the real thing. Of course there’s nothing like the real thing. Sometimes when those filters are used the brain recognizes something wrong or incongruent with the scene. We’ve all seen the dark purple clouds in the sky with the foreground being neutral. It doesn’t make sense and we don’t really know what’s wrong until we sit and think about it but it does look wrong. Kind of like walking around with an umbrella above you while wearing a snow suit and winter boots.

I kept taking pictures until almost 7:00 a.m. By then the sun had risen far too high for my liking and it was time to head home but not before I crawled around in a pasture that was full of dew covered spider webs. That’s something new for me. Just watch out for the cow pies. LOL

Have a great weekend!

Happy shooting,

Dan
BTW, this is a three shot HDR processed in Photomatix. When using Photomatix, I seldom have the strength slider above 30. Oh sure, it starts looking more interesting the more you pump up the strength but the tones also start looking exaggerated. A good landscape photo I think is like a good movoe or book, it doesn’t go beyond the realm of believability.

~ by Dan Jurak on July 27, 2012.

One Response to “I think this is why they make photo filters?”

  1. This one of my favourites of yours, Dan. The strong silhouettes combined with the subtle detail of the sign keep drawing my eye back to it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

