On the prairie, it’s all about the sky

Yesterday afternoon and early evening we had some great thunderstorms. With a downpour or rain and lots of thunder, little else happened. The skies for the most part were non-descript and uninteresting.

One of the great things about summer storms in Alberta is that immediately after the storm passes, we get some great skies.

About an hour before sunset, the skies started clearing and it was looking better by the minute. I had an idea of where I wanted to go. A little slough the middle of a field that is sometimes surrounded by wildflowers and reeds. I made my way out there. It’s only ten minutes from home. Because of the freshly fallen rain, the field was wet. My runners got soaked. No flowers and too much soggy ground to get close to the pond so I made my way along the edge of a canola field back to my vehicle. As I walked back, I could see the clouds changing before my eyes. It was still twenty minutes before sunrise but already the colors in the sky were changing.

I shot a bunch of variations of this as I walked. I’m not sure that this one is the best. I’ll re-examine them again in a few days once I have distanced myself from the shoot.

Skies are an important part of any landscape on the prairie. Without an interesting sky, this wouldn’t be nearly as interesting as without. Always keep looking upward.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on July 19, 2012.

One Response to “On the prairie, it’s all about the sky”

  1. I live along the Front Range of the Rockies in Colorado. I’m 15 minutes from the mountains and 15 minutes from the prairie grasslands. I’ve discovered that over the past 8 years my interest has been with landscapes of the open prairies. And, this does include the clouds. I am always looking upward for those constantly changing skies and have learned to turn around and look behind me. There’s sky there also. :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

