The Winter That Never Left…

I think that we had our first snowfall that didn’t melt away during the third week of November. Four months and counting of the white stuff!

Am I tired of seeing snow everywhere I go? No way! Call me crazy or I don’t know what, winter has to be the most magical of all seasons. Snow has the amazing ability to transform an empty field into one that looks like it’s covered in dunes. Imperfections in the ground are covered with the white stuff.

The wind shapes and sculpts it until it resembles dunes in the desert. It’s a wonderful time to be outdoors.

As fast as it seems to melt, more seems to fall. By my reckoning we only have a couple more weeks of shooting it until the browns of spring start to peak from underneath the white.

Early spring isn’t a pretty time. I usually don’t shoot much or I head to the mountains where winter hangs on for just a little while longer.

Hail all to the gods of winter.

Happy shooting,

Dan.

~ by Dan Jurak on March 25, 2011.

2 Responses to “The Winter That Never Left…”

  1. Is that frozen fog I see on the trees? Looks like you caught a nice sun pillar in that shot too.
    I enjoy the snow also, but the crummy gray skies this week are driving me nuts. After the winds of the past few days, there are some crazy dunes out there just waiting for a shadow.
    So many zero contrast days this winter.

  2. @ Pat, there’s a bit of rime on the trees. It was a great morning with an ice fog that kept lifting and falling. The grey skies around Edmonton have been terrible for photography.

    This has to be one of the greyest winters that I can remember.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 658 other followers

