Winter… The Best Season?

My favorite time of the year is here. When others are indoors staying out of the cold and the snow, I can usually be found driving the back country roads of Alberta.

As we approach the shortest day of the year and the sun stays close to the horizon, the longer shadows give shape and texture that would otherwise be lost if the sun were higher.

Snow. Ahh, beautiful snow. Spend some time in it and you can easily see why the Eskimos had so many different names for it. From light and powdery to hard packed and drifted, it’s different from day to day and sometimes hour to hour.

Get out while the gettin’s good. It is THE BEST SEASON!

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on November 28, 2010.

6 Responses to “Winter… The Best Season?”

  1. Wow fabulous photo! Winter has actually arrived early in the UK and we have had snow the earliest we’ve had it since 1993! I’m looking forward to getting out and getting sOme shots!

  2. @ Helen, I’ve seen some beautiful photos from the news wire of Great Britain at work in the last few days. It looks like a magical place to be.

    Dan

  3. What a beautiful image, it seems so peaceful, tranquil, secluded… such a great place to be.

    It also reminds me a bit of the beach, no snow here in Texas, but the sand can catch the shadows in low light also- I’ll have to try it one day. -Kim

  4. Great photo! I hatwinter. But never say never! My camera just might be the push I needed to get back out there again. Your work and encouragement certainly inspires me to try!

  5. @ Ron, with almost half the year having the landscape covered with snow, if I waited for things to green up, I’d never be outside. LOL

    Dan

  6. Hi Dan. What a great image. The leading lines from the drifts and the fence are awesome.

    Best regards from Kitimat, B.C.

    Doug

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

