The best laid plans…

churchaThe plan had been to head off to the mountains for Saturday and Sunday. This year I want to spend more time there. Partly to get more stock for the agencies and partly because it is the mountains that first sparked my interest in photography more than thirty years ago.

Well, things don’t always work out as planned. Throughout the week I kept checking on the forecas for the Columbia Icefields and Jasper proper. It didn’t look promising.

Up early Saturday morning. Check the forecast. Rain. Rain. Rain and snow. A change of plans was called for.

Looking at the radar map for central and western Alberta showed some huge clouds by Lesser Slave Lake building up. It also showed a large band near Edson and Drayton Valley. What I was now hoping for was that by the time the cloud bands made their way east of Edmonton,  I would be out in the countryside waiting for them.

At six o’clock I headed east of town, driving no place in particular. A strange thing happened. The skies opened up. Well, I wasn’t going to get the photos I planned on. That isn’t always a bad thing though.

Around eight o’clock, I came upon this old church by Vegreville. It has a spooky quality to it. The light was awful. The skies almost perfectly clear. I shot it both in color and infrared. This of course is the IR version. Layered and textured with the false color removed. I will post the color version soon. I just haven’t processed it yet. The range of light was so extreme that for the color version I did a five shot +3, -3 EV exposure. Normally three exposures works well but with just three, I was getting very little detail on the church. It will be interesting to see how that turns out.

Heading home, I could see the western horizon darkening. As I got close to Fort Saskatchewan, the skies turned black, lightning was striking everywhere and my windshield wipers could barely keep up to the rain. On the other side of the fort, it was dry.

I got my storm but not as planned. There’s always another day.

Happy shooting,

Dan

~ by Dan Jurak on June 21, 2009.

One Response to “The best laid plans…”

  1. A very different look for you. I like it! Also look forward to seeing the color version. I was in Edmonton yesterday for an opening, but no time for photography. There were great skies and light driving home though.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

