Lying in the snow at thirty below…

When you live in a part of the world where winter can be six months long, you can either complain about it and be miserable or you can put a smile on your face and get out and get shooting.

To the guy in the four wheel drive that stopped to see if I needed help while I was lying in road side snow drift while it was -30C, a big thank you. I know I must have looked either stupid or helpless.

One of the nice things about being in the country is the friendliness I encounter. People who don’t know me, wave or smile as our vehicles pass one another.

I have never been denied access to property that I wanted to photograph.Farmers, sometimes don’t appreciate the beauty in their old buildings until I send them an email with a link to the photos of their place.

It has warmed up considerably in the few days since I took this picture. Sadly, the wonderful drifts the blizzard created last week will be melting. Sigh.

The forecast here is for fresh snow with temperatures around zero the next few days.

In Alberta every season is distinct. Some complain about it. I love it. Winter is almost done and a different set of opportunities will present themselves.

Spring. The start of our spring is is not bright greens and lush foliage sprouting everywhere but dirty brown foliage and mud. It doesn’t sound picturesque but just wait. :)

Enjoy the remaining weeks of winter. I know that I will.

Happy shooting,

Dan.

~ by Dan Jurak on March 13, 2009.

2 Responses to “Lying in the snow at thirty below…”

  1. lol As I was headed back home after having breakfast with Ma and Pa in town, the sun just crested its full body above the horizon and I got to thinking, “I bet Dan would love this photo opportunity. Wonder what he would do with the winter brown and bright sunlight?” I’ll probably post the shot I took on Flickr later today.

  2. Jac, send me the link on Flickr. I’d love to see it.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

